Josh Rouse - Dressed Up Like Nebraska [2019 Repress]

  • Josh Rouse - Dressed Up Like Nebraska [2019 Repress]

Josh Rouse - Dressed Up Like Nebraska [2019 Repress]


Released6th September 2019
Catalogue 0081227911546
Barcode 0081227911546

+ Double LP pressed on 180g heavyweight vinyl, housed in a tip-on gatefold jacket.

Hailing from Oshkosh, Nebraska, indie folk/pop singer-songwriter` Josh Rouse began his recording career in Nashville in 1998. Josh started writing songs at the age of 18 and eventually settled in the city where he began recording.

The initial recordings he put onto an 8-track recorder in his living room eventually became his debut album, 'Dressed Up Like Nebraska' which the Run Out Groove label are issuing for the first time on vinyl and expanding into a 2LP set that includes 4 bonus tracks.

Released in 1998, the album received critical acclaim from music writers and critics. Billboard wrote that it was “a dark horse beguiling record,” and “as pure and unpretentious as any singer/songwriter album issued this year.

Critics praised the album, with CMJ complementing Rouse’s work calling it “a strikingly poised debut brimming with graceful, evocative songs about regret and desire.” It received a four-star review from Allmusic, with James Chrispell describing it as “one of those classic discs one hears about, but seldom hears.”

Side One
1. Suburban Sweetheart
2. Dressed Up Like Nebraska
3. Invisible
4. Late Night Conversation
Side Two
1. Flair
2. White Trash Period Of My Life
3. Simple Thing

LP 2
Side One
1. Woman Lost In Serious Problems
2. Lavina
3. Reminiscent
Side Two
1. Late Night Conversation (live)
2. Suburban Sweetheart (demo)
3. Flair (demo)
4. Cannot Talk (demo)

Josh Rouse - Dressed Up Like Nebraska [2019 Repress] is currently priced at a special preorder rate and will revert to full price on release. The release date of 6th September 2019 is estimated and subject to change.

Artist Josh Rouse
Filed Under Country & Americana