Juan Wauters

Introducing Juan Pablo

£12.99 £19.99
  • Juan Wauters - Introducing Juan Pablo
31st May 2019 / CD & LP / Captured Tracks

Juan Wauters

Introducing Juan Pablo

£12.99 £19.99

La Onda de Juan Pablo was a travelogue of sorts, with its anthropological efforts, its parade of Latin American musicians and its choice to only feature Wauters native tongue. Introducing Juan Pablo, on the other hand, goes back and forth between Spanish and English. It is, in short, more faithful to the inter-culturalism that Wauters experiences daily. "In my house, among my family, we speak in Spanish. But outside in the neighborhood, we speak in English with my friends. Several of them speak in Spanish with their parents, but not all. It doesn't cause me any trouble to go from one language to another. I can express myself in the same way: everything is music."

In a nod to both his home country and his adopted home, he includes an English version of 'El Hombre de la Calle' ("The Man on the Street") by Jaime Roos, one of the most popular Uruguayan songwriters. The references to the land where he was born are here on the surface. Between the first track 'Super Talking' and the last 'Greetings', songs run in both languages, culminating with 'Lora', which opens like a pop kaleidoscope and ends in a kind of cosmic brotherhood between Eduardo Mateo and Syd Barrett. His immigrant's side. His sense of belonging. His social life and his use of language. His need to work and the even stronger need that his work doesn't become monotonous. His dream of another possible world: a world where all worlds fit. Juan Wauters went through all this to introduce us to Juan Pablo. They are the same person: one among the whole crowd.

1. Super Talking
2. Doing Alright
3. Rubia
4. Letter
5. Bolero (Maurice Ravel)
6. Mystery
7. Lonely
8. Mountain
9. Jaime Tortuga
10. El Hombre de la Calle
11. Dos
12. What You Gonna Do
13. Letter (feat. Maxine)
14. Crazy Funny (feat. Maxine)
15. Lora
16. Straighten Up and Lose
17. Saludos 

Format /CD & LP
Released /31st May 2019
Catalogue / CT298LP
Barcode / 817949016906
Artist / Juan Wauters
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.