Kamasi Washington - Harmony of Difference

  • Kamasi Washington - Harmony of Difference

Kamasi Washington - Harmony of Difference


InfoCD EP & 12" EP 29th September 2017

⌽ This release is eligible for an instant earlybird 10% discount

The Harmony of Difference EP is the first new music from musical titan Kamasi Washington since his universally acclaimed 2015 debut album 'The Epic'. The material premiered as part of the Whitney Museum of American Art 2017 Biennial alongside a film by A.G. Rojas, which also featuring artwork by Kamasi Washington’s sister, Amani Washington. The new music is an original six part suite that explores the philosophical possibilities of the musical technique known as “counterpoint,” which Washington defines as “the art of balancing similarity and difference to create harmony between separate melodies.” Beyond the artistic impulse to expand the possibilities within counterpoint, Washington wanted to create something that opened people’s minds to the gift of diversity. 

Each of the first five movements is its own unique composition. Truth, the sixth movement, fuses all five compositions into one simultaneous performance.  Echoing this fusion, Amani created five paintings focused on raw shapes and colors, each inspired by one of the first five movements of the suite. Amani then combined these paintings to create a sixth: an abstract depiction of a human face. 

The film, directed by A.G. Rojas, brings the metaphoric ideas found in both the music and paintings to life. While still quite abstract, it focuses on the harmony found in people from South Central and East Los Angeles and shows the beauty in their differences.

  1. Desire
  2. Humility
  3. Knowledge
  4. Perspective
  5. Integrity
  6. Truth

⌽ Note that pre-orders are based on estimated release dates that are subject to change.

Filed Jazz