Kassin - Relax

£15.99 £20.99
  • Kassin - Relax

Kassin - Relax

£15.99 £20.99

FormatCD & LP
Released11th May 2018
Catalogue LB89LP
Barcode 680899008914

One of the leading producers and instrumentalists in Brazilian music, Alexandre Kassin has produced roughly one hundred records for singers, including Marisa Monte and Bebel Gilberto, recorded with Sean O’Hagan (Stereolab, High Llamas) and made a full album based on Nintendo Game Boy sounds. He has played bass for Caetano Veloso’s live shows and conceptualised the Orchestra Imperial band.

His new album, Relax, is rooted in dreams and surrealism, yet grounded enough to reach listeners where they are. Across eleven tracks, Kassin flirts with Latin rhythms, Brazilian pop, and straight-ahead soul, using this varied stylistic array to tell imagined tales of death, drug usage, politics and fate. There’s a dichotomy to Relax , with Kassin’s arrangements often feeling bright and danceable, yet with incredibly sullen themes. It’s a record that speaks directly to the yin and yang of everyday life, and the uncertainty that comes with simply existing.

1. Comprimidos Demais (Overpriced Pills)
2. Relax
3. Estricnina (Strychnine)
4. Momento De Clareza (Moment Of Clarity)
5. O Anestesista (The Anesthesis)
6. Sua Sugestão (Your Suggestion)
7. A Paisagem Morta (The Dead Landscape)
8. Digerido (Digested)
9. Seria O Donut? (Is A Donut?)
10. Enquanto Desaba O Mundo (While The World Is Falling)
11. As Coisas Que Nós Não Fizemos (The Things We Did Not Do


Artist Kassin
LabelLuaka Bop
Filed Under World Music