La Luz - Floating Features

  • La Luz - Floating Features

La Luz - Floating Features


FormatCD, LP & Tape
Released11th May 2018
Catalogue HAR105-CREAM
Barcode 098787310511

+ Three different vinyl versions available;
+ Solid gold vinyl, limited to 750 copies only.
+ Indie (shades of) cream opaque splatter vinyl, in a poly translucent sleeve.
+ Standard black vinyl.

+ All vinyl versions include download code.

Los Angeles has often been described as a “dream factory”, both a mecca where dreamers converge to pursue long held aspirations, and a topography of hallucinogenic contradictions: enchanting tangerine sunsets diffused by smog, crystal-clutching spiritualists mingling with deep-pocketed narcissists, rows of scenic palms competing with garish billboards for commuters’ attention.

It was against this backdrop that the four members of LA LUZ - singer/guitarist Shana Cleveland, drummer Marian Li Pino, keyboardist Alice Sandahl, and bassist Lena Simon—conceived of Floating Features, the band’s third studio album. For this, their most ambitious release yet, LA LUZ consulted landscapes both physical and psychological.

References to dreams abound on Floating Features. Loose Teeth catalyses nightmare fuel into a propulsive, intentionally disorienting collision of honeyed harmonies and Takeshi Terauchi-esque jet-streams of distorted surf guitar.

Mean Dream unsurprisingly mines dream state imagery, and the lyrics and melody for Walking Into the Sun actually came to Cleveland during a particularly-vivid night of deep sleep. Looming over the album’s Coterie of surreal figures (gargantuan cicadas, a monstrous Creature, The Sun King, aliens, the titular Lonely Dozer) is the magnificent Greed Machine, a skulking, insatiable engine of consumption-Nathanael West’s business of dreams fearsomely manifested.

Only La Luz could conjure up Floating Features’ Leone-on-LSD vibes, and the album finds the L.A. band at the height of their powers--golden rebels in a golden dream.

01. Floating Features 2:15
02. Cicada 3:13
03. Loose Teeth 2:49
04. Mean Dream 3:36
05. California Finally 3:23
06. The Creature 3:30
07. Golden One 4:16
08. Lonely Dozer 3:17
09. Greed Machine 4:21
10. Walking Into the Sun 2:47
11. Don’t Leave Me On the Earth 2:37

Artist La Luz
LabelHardly Art
Filed Under Indie & Alternative