Land of Talk - Indistinct Conversations

  • Land of Talk - Indistinct Conversations

Land of Talk - Indistinct Conversations


FormatCD & LP
Released15th May 2020
Catalogue LBJ283LPC1
Barcode 648401028331

Indistinct Conversations is the new album from Land of Talk - the Montreal-based band led by Elizabeth Powell. The album’s first single 'Weight of That Weekend' finds Powell delivering a soulful, impassioned plea over an expansive musical terrain. " 'Weight of That Weekend' is a recognition of having been on the receiving end of a lifetime of sexual coercion, assault, boundary violations, and subsequent gaslighting. It all just came to light after an especially heavy weekend a few summers back,” explains Powell. “I was so sick of carrying all this weight that wasn't mine to bear. So sick of being owned by all of this. Imposed on me mostly by men. I grew so sick of suffering and being slowed-down by this weight. The song is a prayer for a lightness of being. A prayer for capital ‘L’ Love.”

All eleven songs on Indistinct Conversations were written by Powell (vocals /guitar/keys), and share the hallmarks of the Land of Talk sound: her silvery vocals; masterful, at times cacophonous guitar playing; and a stream-of-conscious lyricism — here perhaps at her most emotionally vulnerable and honest. Powell produced and arranged the tracks together with her bandmates Mark “Bucky” Wheaton (drums/keys) and Christopher McCarron (bass), and the trio recorded the album in a studio built by McCarron in Wheaton’s apartment basement.

Indistinct Conversations follows 2017’s acclaimed 'Life After Youth' which was at the time Land of Talk’s first album in seven years. The release saw praise from Pitchfork, Paste, The AV Club, and NPR Music, among others, with its singles earning additional highlights from The FADER, NPR Music's All Songs Considered, New York Magazine’s Vulture, Stereogum, Brooklyn Vegan, Bandcamp, WXPN, and more.

Indies only edition LP is on opaque red vinyl in a gatefold sleeve.

1. Diaphanous 4:28
2. Look to You (Intro) 1:23
3. Look to You 3:20
4. Weight of That Weekend 3:46
5. Love in 2 Stages 3:16
6. Compelled 3:14
7. Footnotes 3:33
8. A/B Futures 3:40
9. Festivals 3:14
10. Now You Want to Live in the Light 3:20
11. Indistinct Conversations 4:10

Land of Talk - Indistinct Conversations is currently priced at a special preorder rate and will revert to full price on release. The release date of 15th May 2020 is estimated and subject to change.

Artist Land of Talk
Filed Under Indie & Alternative