Lapalux - Amnioverse

  • Lapalux - Amnioverse

Lapalux - Amnioverse


FormatCD & LP
Released8th November 2019
Catalogue BFCD086
Barcode 5054429137323

Lapalux (aka Stuart Howard) returns to Flying Lotus’ Brainfeeder for his fourth album. Amnioverse“a sort of portmanteau of the amniotic sac and the universe,” he explains—revolves around notions of fluidity; that birth, life, death, and rebirth is a never ending continuum.

Double LP on pink splatter vinyl housed in an 8mm spined gatefold sleeve with silver foil detail. Includes 28 page large format booklet - 30 x 30cm - with spot gloss detail on front cover - and MP3 download code.

He channels these ethereal ideas through a new and ever-expanding modular synth set-up, effortless spanning tempos and balancing space and texture, injecting human emotion and layering recordings of weather, wind, rain and fire, to invoke an elemental, celestial feel.

While 2017’s 'Ruinism' was about sonic wreckage and deconstruction, with Amnioverse, Howard took a different approach, basing each track around a snippet of spoken word from “friends, lovers, and ex partners”, and building the music around it. He also reconnects with Icelandic vocalist JFDR (Jófríður Ákadóttir) who returns for two tracks on 'Thin Air' and 'The Lux Quadrant', as well as vocalist Lilia on 'Limb To Limb', 'Voltaic Acid' and 'Momentine'.

1. Oblivion
2. Voltaic Acid
3. Momentine
4. Earth
5. Hellix
6. Thin Air
7. Limb To Limb
8. The Lux Quadrant
9. Amnioverse
10. Esc

Artist Lapalux
Filed Under Electronic Music