Lianne La Havas - Lianne La Havas

  • Lianne La Havas - Lianne La Havas

Lianne La Havas - Lianne La Havas


FormatCD & LP
Released17th July 2020
Catalogue 0190295252427
Barcode 0190295252427

Limited Indies Only LP Edition  on Mint Green vinyl 

Lianne La Havas new self titled album is her third and her first in five years.  It is an album of startling beauty and insight, made entirely on her own terms which has been quite a journey. In one sense, geographically, La Havas spent a lot of time moving back and forth between the UK and the States,  working on writing and exploring her own identity. The resulting album , Lianne La Havas, feels spacious and luminous, with It's sunbaked sounds recalling, in places, the Brazilian singer, songwriter, and guitarist Milton Nascimento (on track 'Seven Times'). You might also hear the curveball chords of Joni Mitchell and Jaco Pastorious’s jazz explorations ('Green Papaya'), or the puttering drums and inviting warmth of golden era Al Green ('Read My Mind'). Throughout the record, there’s a sense of empowerment that has its roots in the crisp ‘90s R&B of Destiny’s Child.

After relentless touring and promoting of her first two albums as well as personal and emotional events in her life, it was becoming increasingly difficult to find time, inspiration and confidence to get back in the studio for a follow up.  Talking about the albums inspiration, La Havas says: “What plays a big role in the album is the idea of the life cycle of plants and nature equating this journey with a seasonal thing that blooms, thrives, goes away, and comes back even stronger,” Over the five years it took for the album to come together, she found herself watching the changing foliage outside her window in south London, struck by how she was growing and changing herself—not always comfortably. “A flower has to dry up and die in order to be reborn. You have to get to the rock bottom to rebuild yourself.”

The confidence that La Havas has cultivated, both personally and creatively, is audible in  Lianne La Havas -  a record that feels utterly real, a living, breathing thing.

1. Bittersweet
2. Read My Mind
3. Green Papaya
4. Can’t fight
5. Paper Thin
6. Out Of Your Mind (Interlude)
7. Weird Fishes
8. Please Don’t Make Me Cry
9. Seven Times
10. Courage
11. Sour Flower

Lianne La Havas - Lianne La Havas is currently priced at a special preorder rate and will revert to full price on release. The release date of 17th July 2020 is estimated and subject to change.

Filed Under Funk & Soul