Little Kid

Transfiguration Highway

£18.99 £23.99
  • Little Kid - Transfiguration Highway
3rd July 2020 / LP or CD / Soliarie Recordings

Little Kid

Transfiguration Highway

£18.99 £23.99

A sort of post-folk-rock sound with plenty of Christian mysticism and some fascinatingly modern stylings too. It's really quite a treat, this.

Lead by songwriter Kenny Boothby, Toronto based Little Kid were a joy for us to discover and we're delighted to be bringing them to the Dinked audience.

Dinked Edition No 53

* Limited pressing of 300.
* 12" 180g Heavy Vinyl  Clear with Baby Blue, Opaque Orange and
   Opaque Gold Splatter
* Custom Printed Paper Inner Sleeve.
* Jacket with hot foil numbering
* Download card
* Le Cycle Liturgique A3 Poster: 11" x 17" Poster printing 4/0 on 140gsm Offset (Uncoated)
* Orange Side Obi

After six days Jesus took with him Peter, James and John the brother of James, and led them up a high mountain by themselves. There, he was transfigured before them. His face shone like the sun, and His clothes became as white as the light.(Matthew 17:2).

Based out of Toronto, Little Kid’s Kenny Boothby finds himself inspired by this idea of transfiguration - a complete change of form or appearance into a more beautiful or spiritual state. Far ranging in both its sonic palette and its subject matter, the band’s new album, Transfiguration Highway is a record of unusual depth and clarity from a songwriter who has spent the better part of a decade honing his craft and a lifetime building the perspective his songs so deftly express. These are personal songs that look outward, that seek to tie together the bigness of the world and the small-ness of the everyday with both subtlety and humility. For years Boothby and Little Kid have been quietly building a devoted following, but their Solitaire debut is a beautifully formed introduction to the wider world for an artist who will undoubtedly be recognised as a uniquely gifted songwriting voice.

Operating since 2011, and now joined by Megan Lunn (banjo, keys, vocals), Paul Vroom (bass & vocals), Liam Cole (drums) and Brodie Germain (drums, guitar, percussion), Little Kid has built a cult audience with a series of idiosyncratic home recordings, self-released in short cassette runs that range from more traditional albums and EPs, to 2019’s 'Botched Restorations' - on which Boothby sold out a run of one-of-a-kind 60 minute cassettes that each contained 10 songs from his discography, chosen by the purchaser and recorded live to tape in his bedroom.

1. I Thought That You'd Been Raptured 
2. What's In A Name
3. Transfiguration Highway
4. Thief On The Cross
5. All Night (Golden Ring)
6. Candle Out
7. Made For Each Other
8. Close Enough To Kill
9. Losing
10. Gill
11. Pry

Format /LP or CD
Released /3rd July 2020
Catalogue / SOL23LPD1
Barcode / 677355830509
Artist / Little Kid
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.