Lucinda Williams - Happy Woman Blues

  • Lucinda Williams - Happy Woman Blues

Lucinda Williams - Happy Woman Blues


Released1st March 2019
Catalogue FWLP31067
Barcode 093073106717

Lucinda Williams, whose musical style defies easy categorisation, recorded her first album of original songs in 1980, supported by a six-member band. Her songs are a mix of traditional and alternative country, folk, and blues that reflect her Louisiana roots. The Village Voice music critic Robert Christgau gave Happy Woman Blues an "A"013" and described Williams as a "guileless throwback to the days of the acoustic blues mamas" who "means what she says and says what she means."

The vinyl reissue of Happy Woman Blues, which includes a liner notes booklet with the song lyrics, is part of the Smithsonian Folkways Vinyl Reissue Series.

1. Lafayette
2. I Lost It
3. Maria
4. Happy Woman Blues
5. King Of Hearts
6. Rolling Along
7. One-Night Stand
8. Howlin' At Midnight
9. Hard Road
10. Louisiana Man
11. Sharp Cutting Wings

Lucinda Williams - Happy Woman Blues is currently priced at a special preorder rate and will revert to full price on release. The release date of 1st March 2019 is estimated and subject to change.

Filed Under Country & Americana