Maps - Colours. Reflect. Time. Loss.

  • Maps - Colours. Reflect. Time. Loss.

Maps - Colours. Reflect. Time. Loss.


FormatCD & LP
Released10th May 2019
Catalogue STUMM438
Barcode 5400863007003

Colours. Reflect. Time. Loss is the fourth album from Mercury-nominated Northampton composer/producer Maps (aka James Chapman) released on Mute.  It is a career-defining, ambitious album that sees the bedroom producer step out of the bedroom with his most collaborative project to date, including work with classical ensemble The Echo Collective, percussionists and guest vocalists from across the world.

These stunning, immersive and impressionistic songs, scored and produced by Maps himself, are inspired by an orchestral approach and by the rolling Northamptonshire countryside beyond the window of his studio, which provides peace, isolation and inspiration.

“I wanted to push everything to the limit with this record, and explore new territory for Maps. The orchestral instrumentation and addition of other musicians and singers played a huge part in finding the purer and more human emotion I was searching for. I learnt the violin as I was growing up, so I’m glad it finally came in useful!” (Maps)

Three years in the making, Colours. Reflect. Time. Loss. is informed by the richness of life experience. It is an album he could only have made now and one that represents a creative reinvention for Maps.

 The LP is  on white vinyl and includes a download

1    Surveil
2    Both Sides
3    Howl Around
4    Wildfire
5    Just Reflecting
6    She Sang To Me
7    Sophia
8    The Plans We Made
9    New Star
10  You Exist In Everything

Artist Maps
Filed Under Indie & Alternative