Margo Price - That's How Rumors Get Started

  • Margo Price - That's How Rumors Get Started

Margo Price - That's How Rumors Get Started


FormatLP or CD
Released10th July 2020
Catalogue LVR01124
Barcode 0888072173699

“Everybody wants to know / how I feel and what I think,” Margo Price sings in her emotive, bittersweet twang, halfway through her third full-length record.

+ Indie version LP includes a bonus 7" single featuring the track 'Twinkle Twinkle', both pressed on black vinyl.

On 'That’s How Rumors Get Started', Price has committed her genre-bending rock-and-roll show to record for the first time, stretching out into sky-high soft-rock, burning psychedelic rock ballads, stomping road songs, and sprinkles of pop.

"Twinkle Twinkle" is an anti-nostalgia anthem of sorts, about the polarization of becoming a more well-known artist, and the wild ride that was Margo Price's last few years. It traces her trajectory: she gets by, gets high, racks up debt, can’t pay the rent, plays dives to stay alive. “If it don’t break you, it might just make you rich,” she sings, with heroic sass.

In fact, the song was inspired by a backstage encounter with Marty Stuart and the Superlatives at a music festival that was otherwise pretty bleak. (Price has played with Superlatives guitarist Kenny Vaughan over the years.) After the show, in Stuart’s trailer, while he tuned his guitars, he said to Price, “So, you and the band have been on the road a lot lately, do you all hate each other yet?” As Price recalls it: “I said, ‘No, well, I mean, our marriages are falling apart and our health’s deteriorating. But other than that, we’re great.’ And he looks at me, and he gets this gleam in his eye, and he says, ‘You wanted to be a star... Twinkle twinkle.’”

1. That's How Rumors Get Started
2. Letting Me Down (featuring Sturgill Simpson)
3. Twinkle Twinkle
4. Stone Me
5. Hey Child
6. Heartless Mind
7. What Happened To Our Love
8. Gone To Stay
9. Prisoner Of The Highway
10. I’d Die For You

Margo Price - That's How Rumors Get Started is currently priced at a special preorder rate and will revert to full price on release. The release date of 10th July 2020 is estimated and subject to change.

Artist Margo Price
LabelLoma Vista
Filed Under Indie & Alternative