Massive Attack - Mezzanine [2018 Remaster]

  • Massive Attack - Mezzanine [2018 Remaster]

Massive Attack - Mezzanine [2018 Remaster]


FormatCD or LP
Released25th January 2019
Catalogue 6742755
Barcode 0602567427551

20th anniversary reissue of Massive Attack’s double-platinum album featuring the original album re-mastered + an album of previously unreleased dub remixes by the Mad Professor.

+ Indie LP edition pressed on opaque, coloured vinyl: two discs orange, one disc pink. Comes bundled in a slipcase with a hardback book and an extra booklet.

Widely hailed as their masterpiece - and voted 15th in Q Magazine’s 100 Greatest British Albums Ever (2000) - 'Mezzanine' saw the band move away from the ‘trip-hop’ sound they had helped define to embrace rock and electronica. 'Mezzanine' was remastered by Tim Young at Metropolis who has worked with the band for over twenty years.

The Mad Professor remixes were originally intended to be released on a Mad Professor 'Mezzanine' remix album – as the band had done with previous album Protection (No Protection) – yet in the end only a number of his remixes were issued as single b-sides.

All 8 of the Mad Professor remixes included here are previously unreleased and include his dub mixes of 2 tracks not originally featured on 'Mezzanine' but from the same period – 'Metal Banshee' – a dub version of 'Superpredators' which was a cover of Siouxie and the Banshee’s 'Metal Postcard' – and 'Wire', a track they recorded for the soundtrack of the film 'Welcome to Sarajevo'.

As per the original release, the artwork is by Hingston studios who have worked with Robert Del Naja from the band.
The 3LP super-deluxe takes the form of a 48pp hardback book featuring photos from Nick Knight that show the development of the striking cover imagery.
There's also an additional 32pp booklet which is a new edition of the art-book 'Fitting In' which Del Naja originally issued in 2000 (only 50 of which were ever available to buy).

3LP Super Deluxe / 2CD Tracks;
Angel (2018 remaster)
Risingson (2018 remaster)
Teardrop (2018 remaster)
Inertia Creeps (2018 remaster)
Exchange (2018 remaster)
Dissolved Girl (2018 remaster)
Man Next Door (2018 remaster)
Black Milk (2018 remaster)
Mezzanine (2018 remaster)
Group Four (2018 remaster)
(Exchange) (2018 remaster)

Metal Banshee (Mad Professor Mix 1)
Angel (Angel Dust)
Risingson (Setting Sun Dub 2)
Teardrop (Mazaruni Dub 1)
Inertia Creeps (Floating On Dubwise)
Exchange (Mountain Steppers Dub)
Wire (Leaping Dub)
Group Four (Security Forces Dub)

Massive Attack - Mezzanine [2018 Remaster] is currently priced at a special preorder rate and will revert to full price on release. That the release date of 25th January 2019 is estimated and subject to change.

LabelUMC Virgin
Filed Under Electronic Music