Mattiel - Satis Factory

  • Mattiel - Satis Factory

Mattiel - Satis Factory


FormatCD & LP
Released14th June 2019
Catalogue HVNLP171CD
Barcode 5400863008413

Satis Factory, second studio album from Mattiel, is as confident a piece of work as her first self titled album, perhaps even more so.  Building on the success of their collaboration on Mattiel, Mattiel Brown and  Jonah Swilley declare they are a team that just works.  

“Jonah is a great songwriter and he’ll put a structure together and send it to me through an email, and then I’ll listen to it pretty much right away,” Mattiel explains. “And then we’ll restructure it if we need to and I’ll write a melody and lyrics to it and eventually record it.” 

They attribute the confidence of the first album and Satis Factory to a chemistry between them; they seem in awe of each other. “Some of Mattiel’s best lyrical writing is effortless,” Jonah says. “She’s thoughtful with what she wants to say as an artist, but also understands pop sensibilities.”

Despite Satis Factory being recorded in exactly the same way, with exactly the same team behind Mattiel’s debut, the sound is noticeably different. Jonah explained that he “had a musical objective to try new sounds and ways of recording” to Mattiel’s first record but still “keeping lo-fi elements” to the new one. “We started working on Mattiel’s first record with a dusty, cinematic, and garage rock feel to the music,” he explains. “Satis Factory has more stylistic diversity with the musical compositions and an increased level of intensity.”

Limited First pressing on Neon Yellow vinyl + booklet

1 Til The Moment Of Death
2 Rescue You
3 Je Ne Me Connais Pas
4 Food For Thought
5 Keep The Change
6 Millionaire
7 Populonia
8 Blisters
9 Athlete
10 Berlin Weekend
11 Heck Fire
12 Long Division

Artist Mattiel
Filed Under Indie & Alternative