Dias Raros

  • Melenas - Dias Raros
5th June 2020 / CD & LP / Trouble In Mind


Dias Raros


Hailing from the Spanish city of Pamplona, indie-pop quartet Melenas release their new album Dias Raro, via Trouble In Mind - the first label to release their music outside of Spain.

It is an album that hums right from the get-go, peppering their garage-pop punch with elements of lysergic dream pop, melancholic indie rock and strident guitar jangle. Album opener 'Primer Tiempo' buzzes with an urgent organ drone, unfolding into a yearning ballad of modern guitar-pop bolstered by the group's lush harmonies and sets the tone for the rest of Dias Raros. Songs like 'No Puedo Pensar', '3 Segundos' and 'Despertar' follow suit, with the rhythm section galloping headlong into an insistent guitar strum, while ballads like the tender 'El Tiempo ha Padsado' rely on the band's melodious voices, bolstered by a lilting guitar riff and gentle organ swells.

Elsewhere mid tempo rockers like the stomping 'Los Alemanes', the simmering 'Ciencia Ficción' and 'Ya no es Verano's insistent jangle recall underground greats like The Pastels, R.E.M. and Shop Assistants. 'Vals' (Waltz) closes the album in 3/4 time, named for the ballroom dance as well as the last name of a close friend - a dedication to her, its dreamy sway alluding to classic Brill Building songwriting; dusted with melancholy, but lifted by voices,  organ and guitar waves with guitars that twinkle and shimmer over a cracking backbeat. Dias Raros is the perfect introduction to a band bursting with promise, confidently inhabiting their own space built upon the foundation of their influences both geographically and culturally, as well as musically. 

Indies only edition on translucent yellow vinyl

1. Primer tiempo
2. No puedo pensar
3.29 grados
4. Despertar
5. El tiempo ha pasado
6. Los alemanes
7. 3 segundos
8. Ciencia ficción
9. En Madrid
10. Ya no es verano
11. Vals

Format /CD & LP
Released /5th June 2020
Catalogue / TIM154CD
Barcode / 0630125982389
Artist / Melenas
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...