Metronomy - Metronomy Forever

  • Metronomy - Metronomy Forever

Metronomy - Metronomy Forever


FormatCD, 2LP & 3LP
ReleasedSeptember 13th 2019
Catalogue BEC5650090
Barcode 05060686500909

A big return in these parts, Sea Change 2019 headliners Metronomy drop the euphoric Metronomy Forever.

+ Limited 3LP edition is pressed on Transparent Orange vinyl, including an extra LP (Transparent green vinyl) of mixes. Housed in a special 8 page gatefold sleeve.

+ 2LP is pressed on double 140 gram vinyl. 8 page gatefold sleeve.

+ CD is in an 8 Page digisleeve.

The follow-up to 2016’s Summer 08, Metronomy Forever is a beast at seventeen tracks. Its length is born from a desire for breathing room, from not wanting to stuff the hits together like a bouquet of petrol station roses – a modern way of listening to music. Metronomy’s innate skill for blending off-kilter funk, energising club vibes and esoteric pop is interspersed with some mood-setting, glistening and melodic electronic tracks.

The band’s leader Joseph Mount called upon a variety of inspirations for this album. Most notably, he wanted to replicate the feeling of listening to the radio, with an infinite quality, sumptuous songs of different styles, ever rolling, helping to lighten your mood. Moving away from the bustle of his former Parisian home to take up residence atop a hill in the garden of England had an impact, infusing the album with a sense of tranquillity and a calm joy that reflects the relative happiness of his existence.

Also influential was time spent working on Robyn’s critically adored Honey album, with a similar feeling of emotional, intense, carnal mania informing songs such as Sex Emoji and Salted Caramel Ice Cream. Metronomy Forever in name represents something looking backwards and forwards simultaneously, like Janus, something fated and eternal. You were made from dust and to dust you will return, that sort of thing.

LP 1
Side A
1. Wedding
2. Whitsand Bay
3. Insecurity
4. Salted Caramel Ice Cream
5. Driving

Side B
6. Lately
7. Lying Low
8. Forever Is A Long Time
9. The Light

LP 2
Side A
5. Sex Emoji
6. Walking In The Dark
7. Insecure
8. Miracle Rooftop

Side B
5. Upset My Girlfriend
6. Wedding Bells
7. Lately (Going Spare)
8. Ur Mixtape

Bonus LP3 - 'Oscar Cash Forever'
Side A
1. Vocal FX (It’s Automatic)
2. Mellow Brass (Lately / Whitsand Bay)
3. Bold Brass (Maybe It’s A Whisper)
4. Fantasy Flute (Interlude)

Side B
1. Distant Horn (Salted Caramel Ice Cream)
2. Synth Bass (Sex Emoji)
3. Glide Trumpet (The Light)
4. Plucked Guitar (Upset My Girlfriend)

Artist Metronomy
Filed Under Indie & Alternative
"A casual approach gives rise to some of the English electro-indie band’s best songs in years." - 6.7
"An eclectic glide through the genres." - ★★★★