Mick Harvey - Waves of Anzac / The Journey

  • Mick Harvey - Waves of Anzac / The Journey

Mick Harvey - Waves of Anzac / The Journey


FormatCD or LP
Released3rd April 2020
Catalogue STUMM448
Barcode 5400863017989

Mick Harvey releases 'Waves of Anzac / The Journey', his first soundtrack release in over 10 years on the Mute label. 

The album features two recent soundtracks to powerful subject matters recorded by Mick Harvey. The first, 'Waves of Anzac' looks at Sam Neill’s personal family history interwoven with the history of the First World War and the ANZACs through to the modern era while the second, 'The Journey', is a four-part composition released in support of #KidsOffNauru, a campaign working for the child refugees and people seeking asylum who find themselves in offshore detention.

'Waves of Anzac' is a 10-track score, created for the ABC documentary on forgotten war stories and lives lost, a personal history by the actor Sam Neill (Jurassic Park, The Piano) set against a contemporary increasingly divided political backdrop. ‘Why Anzac? with Sam Neill’ (Dir. Kriv Stenders, 2015) is named for the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC) who served together in the Gallipoli Campaign, their first engagement in World War I and continued as a military unit until after WW2.

The film is a look at this pivotal point in our shared history, and the impact it still has on a personal and on a geopolitical level. Harvey recently examined this period via the prism of a fictional soldier/poet for his collaboration with Christopher Richard Barker, 'The Fall and Rise of Edgar Bourchier and the Horrors of War'.

'The Journey' is a four-part composition, recorded with The Letter String Quartet, in support of people seeking asylum who have found themselves in Australia’s offshore detention program. The piece was composed as a study of the hardships endured by the detainees on Nauru, Manus Island and Christmas Island before and during their internment and as an expression of hope for a humane outcome to their plight.

'Waves of Anzac / The Journey' was composed, arranged and produced by Mick Harvey and mastered by Loki Lockwood at Creepy Hollow.

LP Tracks
A1. Turkish Theme
A2. Waves of Anzac
A3. First Anniversary
A4. The Somme
A5. Archives
A6. Poppies
A7. The Lovells
A8. The Cemetery
A9. Modern War
A10. Vietnam
B1. Crete
B2. Back At Kiatora
B3. The Arch
B4. Return to Anzac Cover
B5. The Journey Part 1 – Conflict
B6. The Journey Part 2 – All At Sea
B7. The Journey Part 3 – Capture (Not Real Refugees)
B8. The Journey Part 4 - Hope

CD Tracks
1. After The Bomb
2. Turkish Theme
3. Waves of Anzac
4. Archives
5. First Anniversary
6. The Lovells
7. The Somme
8. Poppies
9. In The Archives
10. The Cemetery
11. Modern War
12. Vietnam
13. Crete
14. Back At Kiatora
15. Waves of Anzac (Reprise)
16. The Arch
17. Return to Anzac Cover
18. 1000 Years On
19. The Build-Up
20. The Aftermath
21. The Ladies Room
22. The Journey Part 1 – Conflict
23. The Journey Part 2 – All At Sea
24. The Journey Part 3 – Capture (Not Real Refugees)
25. The Journey Part 4 - Hope

Mick Harvey - Waves of Anzac / The Journey is currently priced at a special preorder rate and will revert to full price on release. The release date of 3rd April 2020 is estimated and subject to change.

Artist Mick Harvey
Filed Under Soundtracks