Modern Nature

Island Of Noise

  • Modern Nature - Island Of Noise
19th November 2021 / 2LP Box / Bella Union

Modern Nature

Island Of Noise


A new LP, plus a whole new instrumental interpretations LP in a special, limited set.

Released: 19th November 2021
This release is available for pre order and has a scheduled release date of 19th November 2021. In the event of any delays we will try to keep this page updated. It is listed at a special discounted pre order price that will revert to full price during the week of release. Please note, If you make a purchase that includes a pre-order item together with an in-stock item in the same order, we will typically hold your box until all items are in stock before we ship. You can read more about our shipping policies here.
Over the last 12 months, Jack Cooper has constructed a beautiful, free-flowing box set’s worth of material featuring a new album, a separate and equally engaging instrumental interpretation of the album and an accompanying book featuring the work of wide-ranging, non-musical artists (including Booker-nominated poet Robin Robertson, mycologist Merlin Sheldrake, illustrator Sophy Hollington, and writer Richard King) that reinterpret, deconstruct or take inspiration from the 10 tracks on the record.

Bella Union have worked hard to ensure that all materials used are recycled or sustainably sourced. 
Island of Noise – Pressed on 180g Recycled Vinyl
Island of Silence (Expanded Instrumental Version of the Album) – Pressed on 180g Recycled Vinyl
36pg Perfect Bound Booklet with 10 contributions from artists & writers in conjunction with, and inspired by, a song on the album.
Contributors include; Sophy Hollington, Evan Parker, Merlin Sheldrake and Robin Robertson.
Housed in a slipcase with 100% recycled and FSC approved wrap.
Includes Download.
Limited to 1000 copies
Island Of Noise represents an absolute career highlight, combining Cooper’s celebrated songwriting and compositional skills with a free flowing expansiveness coloured by British free music luminaries such as saxophonist Evan Parker, pianist Alexander Hawkins, bassist John Edwards and violinist Alison Cotton, as well as long term collaborators Jeff Tobias and Jim Wallis.
Format /2LP Box
Released /19th November 2021
Catalogue / BELLA1239V
Barcode / 5400863049201
Artist / Modern Nature
Label /Bella Union
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.