Out of Stock
  • Mohit - Preface
10th July 2020 / LP / DVTT Records



Out of Stock

London experimental art-rock outfit MOHIT are here with their debut album ‘Preface’, produced by Marta Salogni (Björk, Liars, The Orielles, Alex Cameron etc). Shortly after releasing a limited 7” single in late 2018 and a second 7” in July 2019, the progressive trio toured in the UK with Ought and Omni. They now return with their first full length, an intriguing and transcendental body of work, that takes as much influence from the concept of musical and artistic connection between humans as it does the music and art itself.

Originally formed by Toby Baxter (Guitar/Vocals) and Danny Brooks (Drums/Vocals), and later joined by Jack Daley (Bass), the band honed their expansive sound in London after migrating from the seaside town of Bognor Regis. Their musical influences range from the prog elements of My Bloody Valentine and Broadcast to the dramatism of 19th century composers such as Eric Satie, Wagner, Mahler and Liszt. ‘Preface’ is an example of how MOHIT expertly collage different concepts together to create a whole.

A deeply personal sonic exploration, the 9 tracks that make up ‘Preface’ were borne out of improvisation sessions and a shared need to create something that was both outwardly challenging yet intimate and meditative.

Previous single 'Yoghurt' showcases the raw talent and connection present from the band’s very inception – it being the first track of the album they recorded together. Many of the avenues explored in other songs on ‘Preface’ are present in this piece; the use of loops, beat-lead sections, evocative harmonies and sonic landscapes, stretching to the most intense moments. Elsewhere on the record, Reggaeezer is a song of two halves, written during an impromptu session in Whitechapel where the band were joined by a local homeless man named Marky Mark. “His lyric, “Stand alone, on my own” speaks of his life on the streets, and the melody manifests his courageous optimism.

An emblem of song creation through improvised moments, ‘Steady Evil’ showcases the trio interacting with their more vulnerable side. Lyrically connecting mindless media consumption (going down a YouTube tunnel in a daze of non-eventual monotony), the song’s sonic palette drifts through lethargic spaces to mimic the sentiment.

Marta Salogni’s vocals feature on I Would Never Wash My Hair in That (Water), a song that transforms from humble beginnings, peppered by coy irony, into a wet atmospheric ending. Meanwhile, forthcoming single Infinite Decay came about after a strange and rather mystical encounter in Wales.

The 3 year period taken to put together the album allowed the band to gain a sophistication within the creative process, allowing them to express their individual mental states within their work. In this way the songs are formed from the collaboration of the personalities of each band member, and the album acts as a journal of their individual and collective growth over this period.

You might have seen or heard them on and in; BBC 6Music, Amazing Radio, The I Newspaper, The 405, Louder Than War, Circuit Sweet, Gigsoup, Pirate Studios, God Is In The TV, and more.

"A dizzying ramshackle of wriggling, art rock guitars, scattergun drums and swooning vocal harmonies that takes you on a journey across the earth and back in time for tea. Epic and progressive stuff." God Is In The TV.

"Possibly the most challenging band we have treading the boards around London at the present time and well worth a look." Louder Than War.

01. Racek
02. Ffion
03. Discover Another.
04. Reggaeezer.
05. Steady Evil.
06. (I Would Never Wash My Hair In That) Water.
07. Yoghurt.
08. Infinite Decay.
09. Hiccups.wav
Format /LP
Released /10th July 2020
Catalogue / DVTT003LP
Barcode / 5024545887914
Artist / Mohit
Label /DVTT Records
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...