Mort Garson

Mother Earth's Plantasia [2020 Audiophile Edition]

  • Mort Garson - Mother Earth's Plantasia [2020 Audiophile Edition]
6th November 2020 / LP / Sacred Bones Records

Mort Garson

Mother Earth's Plantasia [2020 Audiophile Edition]


Hear the perfect reproduction of old-school analogue oscillation to help all of your pot plants grow thanks to a new, expanded edition of this evergreen classic.

This release is listed for pre order, with a scheduled release date of 6th November 2020. It is also listed at a special discounted pre order price that will revert to full price during week of release. Please note, if you purchase any item that is a pre order, your order will ship once all of the items in that order are in stock. You can read more about our shipping policies here.

If you purchased a snake plant, asparagus fern, peace lily, or what have you from Mother Earth on Melrose Avenue in Los Angeles (or bought a Simmons mattress from Sears) in 1976, you also took home Plantasia, an album recorded especially for plants. Subtitled “warm earth music for plants...and the people that love them,” it was full of bucolic, charming, stoner-friendly, decidedly unscientific tunes enacted on the new-fangled device called the Moog.

+ Deluxe, double LP, 45 rpm audiophile edition of the legendary 1976 album.
+ Limited to 4000 copies.
+ Includes full reproduction of original booklet plus liner notes by Andy Beta (Pitchfork).
+ Mort Garson was a pioneer of the Moog synthesizer and created the soundtrack for the 1969 moon landing.
+ A song from Plantasia became the basis for “Zelda’s Lullaby” in 'Ocarina of Time'.
+ Every copy comes with a plantable download card printed on seed paper.

Before Brian Eno did it, Mort Garson was making discreet music. Julliard-educated and active as a session player in the post-war era, Garson wrote lounge hits, scored the 1969 moon-landing and plush arrangements for Doris Day, and garlanded weeping countrypolitan strings around Glen Campbell’s “By the Time I Get to Phoenix.”

But as his daughter Day Darmet recalls: “When my dad found the synthesizer, he realized he didn’t want to do pop music anymore.” Garson encountered Robert Moog and his new device at the Audio Engineering Society’s West Coast convention in 1967 and immediately began tinkering with the device.

“My mom had a lot of plants,” Darmet says. “She didn’t believe in organized religion, she believed the earth was the best thing in the whole world. Whatever created us was incredible.” And she also knew when her husband had a good song. Novel as it might seem, Plantasia is simply full of good tunes.

This release marks the first official re-issue of the long sought-after cult classic.Hearing Plantasia in the 21st century, it seems less an ode to our photosynthesisng friends by Garson and more an homage to his wife, the one with the green thumb that made everything flower around him. “My dad would be totally pleased to know that people are really interested in this music that had no popularity at the time,” Darmet says of Plantasia’s new renaissance. “He would be fascinated by the fact that people are finally understanding and appreciating this part of his musical career that he got no admiration for back then.” Garson seems to be everywhere again, even if he’s not really noticed, just like a houseplant

1. Plantasia (3:23)
2. Symphony for a Spider Plant (2:41)
3. Baby’s Tears Blues (3:03)
4. Ode to an African Violet (4:04)
5. Concerto For Philodendron And Pothos (3:09)
6. Rhapsody In Green (3:28)
7. Swingin’ Spathiphyllums (2:59)
8. You Don’t Have To Walk A Begonia (2:31)
9. A Mellow Mood For Maidenhair (2:17)
10. Music To Soothe The Savage Snake Plant (3:23)

Format /LP
Released /6th November 2020
Catalogue / SBR303045
Barcode / 843563129876
Artist / Mort Garson
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...