Moses Sumney - græ

  • Moses Sumney - græ

Moses Sumney - græ


FormatCD & LP
Released15th May 2020
Catalogue JAG348CD
Barcode 656605234823

++LP limited edition black and white vinyl

Moses Sumney evades definition as an act of duty: technicolour videos and monochrome clothes; Art Rock and Black Classical; blowing into Fashion Week from a small town in North Carolina; seemingly infinite collaborators, but only one staggering voice. A young life spent betwixt Southern California and Accra, Ghana — not so much rootless as an epyphite, an air plant. The scale is cinematic but the moves are precise deeds of art and stewardship. Sumney’s new, generous album, græ, is an assertion that the undefinable still exists and dwelling in it is an act of resistance.

The songs on græ may be divergent, like the visceral, Smashing Pumpkins drama of Virile and the intoxicated, outro jazz of Gagarin. There’s the kinky, ambiguous bop of Cut Me countered with the sweeping, amphitheater-ready Bless Me. But there’s that voice, always unknowable and penetrating, threading these pieces together: a heavenly rasp, a whale call, Miles' horn, a soulful snarl. It all works to create a paradox, keeping art and artist somewhere between any one sure thing — but surely something that demands your attention affixed and your breath bated. All of this is græ.

Side A 
1. Insula 
2. Cut Me 
3. In Bloom 
4. Virile 
5. Conveyor 
6. boxes
7. Gagarin 

Side B 
8. jill/jack
9. Colouour 
10. also also also and and and 
11. Neither/Nor 
12. Polly

Side C
13. Two Dogs 
14. Bystanders 
15. Me in 20 Years 
16. Keeps Me Alive 
17. Lucky Me 

Side D 
18. and so I come to isolation
19. Bless Me
20. before you go
Artist Moses Sumney
Filed Under Indie & Alternative