Motor City Drum Ensemble

fabric presents: Danilo Plessow

  • Motor City Drum Ensemble - fabric presents: Danilo Plessow
28th May 2021 / 2LP or CD / Fabric

Motor City Drum Ensemble

fabric presents: Danilo Plessow


The mix was recorded at the end of 2020 as the planet was struggling with the second wave of the Covid-19 pandemic. Danilo Plessow, known best for his work as Motor City Drum Ensemble, inserts statements from friends about the meaning of the music to people in these times, reaching globally for inspiration. He plays with a range of eras, locations and genres with an emphasis on instrumentation. The double vinyl format with download card features eleven full length tracks taken from the compilation. It highlights the rarer cuts across the 70s, 80s and 90s many of which have never before been digitally released. It includes ‘Nightfall’ – Danilo’s exclusive composition with jazz instrumentalists Francesco Geminiani and Peter Schlamb and ‘Taxi Mutant’ by Cabaret Voltaire that has been cut to vinyl for the first time here.

LP Tracklist: 

A1: SKUAS - Traversée
A2: Scientist - In Orbit
A3: Jeroen Vink - Waka Wakah
B1: Moogroove - Dark Room
B2: Cabaret Voltaire - Taxi Mutant
C1: Logue - Keep Me From Pain
C2: Family Unit – Freak (House Mix)
C3: Iridium - Ill America
D1: Danilo Plessow ft. Francesco Geminiani & Peter Schlamb - Nightfall
D2: THE ORDER - E.W.R. (Sex)
D3: Jean-Claude Petit - Stones Of Law

CD Tracklist:

1. Intro
2. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith - Understanding Body Messages
3. SKUAS - Traversée
4. Rhythm & Sound w/ Paul St. Hilaire - Music A Fe Rule Part 1
5. Scientist - In Orbit
6. Recloose ft Dwele – Can’t Take It (Herbert’s Some Dumb Dub)
7. Moogroove - Dark Room
8. Jeroen Vink - Waka Wakah
9. Powder - Random Ladder with 40
10. Danilo Plessow ft. Francesco Geminiani & Peter Schlamb - Nightfall
11. Proxyan - Sky Walkers
12. Basic Variation - Decay Sustain Release
13. Ciel - Raindance
14. Hypnobeat - Can God Rewind? (Part 2)
15. Cabaret Voltaire - Taxi Mutant
16. THE ORDER - E.W.R. (Sex)
17. The Other People Place - It’s Your Love
18. $tinkworx - Mnemosyne
19. Roy Davis Jr - Broken Machines
20. Jonny L - This Time (Carl Craig Mix 2)
21. Logue - Keep Me From Pain
22. A² - Rebirth
23. Sansibar - Absence Of Being
24. Family Unit - Freak (House Mix)
25. Iridium - Ill America
26. Jean-Claude Petit - Stones Of Law
27. Moonstarr - Detriot
28. John Kongos – I'm Dreaming (Any Moment I May Wake Up Screaming)

Format /2LP or CD
Released /28th May 2021
Catalogue / fabric208LP
Barcode / 5060845320133
Label /Fabric
Genre / Compilations
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.