Nils Frahm

All Encores

Out of Stock
  • Nils Frahm - All Encores
18th October 2019 / CD / Erased Tapes

Nils Frahm

All Encores

Out of Stock

This is the collected edition of Nils Frahm's recent, three-part 'Encores' series, 'All Encores', all on one disc.

To run through the trio; 'Encores 1' focused on an acoustic pallet of sounds with solo piano and harmonium at the core, 'Encores 2' explored more ambient landscapes and 'Encores 3' sees Nils expand on the percussive and electronic elements in his work.

“The idea behind 'All Encores' is one we had from before 'All Melody'; to separate releases each with their own distinct musical style and theme, perhaps even as a triple album. But 'All Melody' became larger than itself and took over any initial concepts. I think the idea of 'All Encores' is like musical islands that compliment 'All Melody'.”

Moulded during 'All Melody' but refined by his live performances, the 'All Encores' set is testament to Nils’ exceptional ability to craft his art both in the recording studio and on stage.

The compilation is straight outta Frahm's self-built 'Funkhaus' studio in Berlin.

The pinnacle of the ambient landscape in the middle part of the compilation is the astral 12 minute showpiece 'Spells'. Recorded through an amplified stone well Frahm found on Mallorca.

In the final third, 'Artificially Intelligent' showcases his ‘mad professor’ organ, and 'All Armed' which has been a live favourite for some time, appearing on set lists since 2015, are now available to hear on record for the very first time. The final track of Encores 3, as well as the whole series, 'Amirador', perhaps aptly nods to the Spanish word for ‘lookout’ and hints at what’s to come.

Frahm has been touring extensively following the release of 'All Melody', bringing his spectacular live show all around the world with sold out performances including the Hammersmith Apollo in London, L.A.’s Disney Hall, Brooklyn Steel, Le Trianon in Paris and Funkhaus in Berlin. 

1. The Roughest Trade
2. Ringing
3. To Thomas
4. The Dane
5. Harmonium In The Well
6. Sweet Little Lies
7. A Walking Embrace
8. Talisman
9. Spells
10. Artificially Intelligent
11. All Armed
12. Amirador

Format /CD
Released /18th October 2019
Catalogue / ERATP126CD
Barcode / 3700551782550
Artist / Nils Frahm
Label /Erased Tapes
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...