No-Man - Housekeeping


Somewhere (somehow) between the feverish grooves of Madchester and the anthemic charge of the Britpop brigade, musically eclectic mavericks No-Man made a small mark on the early 1990s UK Independent music scene.


Containing driving electronic pop music, epic ambient rock suites and emotive groove-enhanced ballads, Housekeeping is a lovingly compiled tribute to the creative anomaly that is (and was) No-Man. Designed by Carl Glover, the hardback book includes essays by Matt Hammers (author of No-Man blog), Tim Bowness and Steven Wilson, alongside rare photos and memorabilia.


Formed by Tim Bowness and Steven Wilson, the band also included violinist Ben Coleman and the albums featured notable appearances by Mick Karn and Steve Jansen (Japan), Robert Fripp, Ian Carr, Lisa Gerard (Dead Can Dance), and soon to be Porcupine Tree members Richard Barbieri, Chris Maitland and Colin Edwin. The band released two albums and series of singles on the influential OLI label (Björk, The Shamen etc), which generated rave reviews (Singles Of The Week in Melody Maker, Sounds, and Hot Press) and radio/TV play aplenty (BBC Radio One sessions/playlist, appearances on MTV, Channel Four and ITV1).


'Housekeeping' is a comprehensive remastered collection of No-Man’s output for the OLI label between 1990-1994. 

+ Featuring the band's first two albums ‘Loveblows & Lovecries’ (1993) and ‘Flowermouth’ (1994), along with the singles compilation ‘Lovesighs’ (1992).

The deluxe 5CD bookset also contains outtakes, alternate versions and the band’s sessions for BBC Radio from the period (which reveal a very different, more visceral, side to the band).


CD1 - Lovesighs – An Entertainment
1. Heartcheat Pop
2. Days in the Trees – US remix
3. Drink Judas
4. Heartcheat Motel
5. Kiss Me Stupid
6. Colours
7. Iris Murdoch Cut Me Up
8. Days in the Trees - Reich
9. Days in the Trees - Ives
10. Days in the Trees - Bartok
11. Walker
12. Road

CD2 - Loveblows and Lovecries – A Confession
1. Loveblow
2. Only Baby
3. Housekeeping
4. Sweetheart Raw
5. Lovecry
6. Tulip
7. Break Heaven
8. Beautiful and Cruel
9. Painting Paradise
10. Heaven’s Break
11. Taking It Like a Man
12. Babyship Blue
13. Tulip – unedited master

CD3 - Singles
1. Ocean Song
2. Back to the Burning Shed
3. Swirl
4. Sweetheart Raw – full length version
5. Bleed
6. Only Baby – Breathe for Me
7. Only Baby – Be for Me
8. Long Day Fall
9. Painting Paradise – single re-recording
10. Heaven Taste

CD4 - Flowermouth
1. Angel Gets Caught in the Beauty Trap
2. You Grow More Beautiful
3. Animal Ghost
4. Soft Shoulders
5. Shell of a Fighter
6. Teardrop Fall
7. Watching Over Me
8. Simple
9. Things Change

CD5 - Radio Sessions 1992-94
1. Break Heaven – Nicky Campbell session
2. Heartcheat Pop – Nicky Campbell session
3. Housekeeping – Nicky Campbell session
4. Ocean Song – Hit the North session
5. Days in the Trees – Hit the North session
6. Taking It Like a Man – Hit the North session
7. Lovecry – GLR session
8. Days in the Trees – GLR session
9. Sweetheart Raw – The Way Out session
10. Teardrop Fall – acoustic session
11. Watching Over Me – acoustic session
12. Shell of a Fighter – acoustic session
13. You Grow More Beautiful – acoustic session

Release Info

Release Date: 26th January 2024
Format: 5CD
Label: One Little Independant

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.

EXPLORE Curated music collections, latest recommendations; everything that you need to know!

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just £85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend £85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty