Ólafur Arnalds

some kind of peace

  • Ólafur Arnalds - some kind of peace
6th November 2020 / LP or CD / Mercury KX

Ólafur Arnalds

some kind of peace


A pre and post lockdown spanning new LP from Icelandic composer Ólafur Arnalds.

This release is listed for pre order, with a scheduled release date of 6th November 2020. It is also listed at a special discounted pre order price that will revert to full price during week of release. Please note, if you purchase any item that is a pre order, your order will ship once all of the items in that order are in stock. You can read more about our shipping policies here.
His most revealing and vulnerable work to date, some kind of peace also features Ólafur’s close companions Bonobo, Josin, and JFDR.

Ólafur Arnalds is one of the most influential musicians of modern times: a multi-faceted talent, who has paved the way across the electronic and classical worlds. His latest album, ‘some kind of peace’, nonetheless has the feel of a brand new chapter for Ólafur. Within, you'll find a self-confessed perfectionist grappling with the messier realities of everyday life: the possibilities of love, of settling down, and how to navigate all of that during a global pandemic (the album was half-written prior to lockdown, and completed at Arnalds' harbour studio in downtown Reykjavik). What's emerged on 'some kind of peace' is a record about letting your guard down, and ultimately what it means to be alive.

+ Both formats are ‘eco-packaging’ with high quality reusable PVC printed sleeves.

1 ‘ Loom’ feat. Bonobo
2 ‘Woven Song’
3 ‘Spiral’
4 ‘Still / Sound’
5 ‘Back To The Sky’ feat. JFDR
6 ‘Zero’
7 ‘New Grass’
8 ‘The Bottom Line’ feat. Josin
9 ‘We Contain Multitudes’
10 ‘Undone’
Format /LP or CD
Released /6th November 2020
Catalogue / 734832
Barcode / 0602507348328
Artist / Ólafur Arnalds
Label /Mercury KX
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...