Omni - Multi-task

  • Omni - Multi-task

Omni - Multi-task


FormatCD & LP
Released22nd September 2017
Catalogue TIM124CD
Barcode 630125983539

Speaking as both massive fans of Trouble in Mind AND Omni, we can hardly be impartial... but it's our job to get you all switched on to the good stuff. Damn this is the good stuff.

Atlanta, GA trio Omni charges out of the gate in 2016, stunning everyone within earshot with their debut longplayer, "Deluxe"; a dizzyingly refreshing amalgam of wiry post-punk jitters & a dash of zen cool. "Multi-task" is their latest offering & all signs point to the coveted goal of "next level".

+ Available as a very limited edition red vinyl LP pressing (with a poster!) for us indie stores.

Guitarist Frankie Broyles (ex-Balkans/Deerhunter) & bassist/vocalist Philip Frobos (Carnivores) crafted "Deluxe"s eleven tracks in their practice space with friend & engineer Nathaniel Higgins. They returned to Higgins for "Multi-task", recording basic drum tracks at Higgins' home studio & overdubbing bass, guitar, vocals & more during two separate trips to a remote cabin in the woods near Vienna, Georgia.

"Multi-task" is a more musically adventurous step forward for the band, keeping the frantic, fleet-fingered fingerpicking of Broyles' guitar work & Frobos' dead-cool delivery while expanding their musical palette & to include whispers of post-Roxy glam & Postcard Records pop. "Multi-task" balances the band’s trademark off-kilter & unconventional jams with an elegance not found in many of their contemporaries, Omni pulls it off with grace & style, still whirring on their minimalist funk-fused agit-pop while creating an album that is awash in the excitement of new love, or fleeting attraction - a journey from that dizzying buzz of first date pheromones found twirling on the dance floor to the cab ride cool-down to home (or wherever.)

1. Southbound Station
2. Equestrian
3. Choke
4. Tuxedo Blues
5. After Dinner
6. First Degree
7. Supermoon
8. Date Night
9. Calling Direct
10. Heard My Name
11. Type

Frankie Broyles: guitar, drums, percussion
Philip Frobos: bass, vocals

Recorded by Nathaniel Higgins
Mastered by Mikey Young
Artist Omni
Filed Under Indie & Alternative