Parliament - Chocolate City

  • Parliament - Chocolate City

Parliament - Chocolate City


Released21st June 2019
Catalogue 7740919
Barcode 0602577409196

Chocolate City is the third album by the George Clinton led funk band Parliament, originally released in 1975. It was a “tribute to Washington D.C.”, where the group had been particularly popular. The album’s cover includes images of the United States Capitol, the Washington Monument, and the Lincoln Memorial in the form of a chocolate medallion, as well as sticker labelled “Washington DC”. The album was very popular in that city.

Chocolate City features the classic P-Funk lineup with George Clinton, Bootsy Collins, Bernie Worrell, and Eddie Hazel. The Brecker Brothers, Michael and Randy, joined the band as did vocalist Glenn Goins. Prakash John plays bass on several tracks. This album also marks the beginning of the pivotal songwriting team of George Clinton, Bootsy Collins, and Bernie Worrell, a partnership that would last until the 1978.

The album is full of the uptempo funk that the band would be known for as well as the vocal harmonies of The Parliaments. 'Let Me Be' draws on jazz as well as gospel influences. 'Together' is a remake of 'Together in Heaven' by Bootsy, Phelps, and Gary. Glen Goins makes his debut P. Funk performance on 'Big Footin'.

Chocolate City reached number 18 on the Billboard soul LP charts in 1975 and reached No. 91 on the album charts. 'Chocolate City', the title track and first single, reached No. 24 on the black chart and No. 94 on the Billboard Hot 100 while 'Ride On' the second single reached No. 64 on the black chart.

Side A
1. Chocolate City
2. Ride On
3. Together
4. Side Effects
5. What Comes Funky

Side B
1. Let Me Be
2. If It Don't Fit (Don't Force It)
3. I Misjudged You
4. Big Footin'

Parliament - Chocolate City is currently priced at a special preorder rate and will revert to full price on release. The release date of 21st June 2019 is estimated and subject to change.

Artist Parliament
Filed Under Funk & Soul