Paul Weller - Other Aspects, Live at the Royal Festival Hall

  • Paul Weller - Other Aspects, Live at the Royal Festival Hall

Paul Weller - Other Aspects, Live at the Royal Festival Hall


Released8th March 2019
Catalogue 0190295494018
Barcode 0190295494018

+ The Mod-Father gets a little help from Sea Change Festival 2019 guest (and Drift favourite) Hannah Peel on conducting and arranging his work for the Royal Festival Hall stage and includes Lucy Rose in a top line-up of musicians.

+ Both formats come bundled with the DVD of the performance, packed with extras from backstage.

In October 2018, Paul Weller performed two extraordinary must-see concerts at The Royal Festival Hall with an orchestra. The second of these shows was recorded and filmed, and now sees the light of day as a stand-out live album and DVD.

'Other Aspects, Live At The Royal Festival Hall' features an eclectic 25 track career spanning set. As well as classics from Paul’s rich back catalogue, the bulk of the critically acclaimed performance features 11 songs from the gorgeous 'True Meanings' – Paul’s roundly lauded, no. 2 album which was released in September 2018.

The track-listing also includes several tracks from Paul’s days in The Jam, including a radical re-working of “Private Hell” from their 1979 LP “Setting Sons” and a brilliantly realised version of “Boy About Town”. The Style Council get a welcome look-in too with “Have You Ever Had It Blue” and “A Man Of Great Promise”.

Other firm solo favourites such as “You Do Something To Me” and “Long Long Road” fit seamlessly into the set. As well as the full concert, the DVD also features a behind-the-scenes mini-documentary with rehearsal footage and interviews.

The shows were a resounding success with meticulous arrangements and superb sound, with Paul’s voice sounding richer and more assured than ever.

Along with Paul’s usual touring band, the show featured the London Metropolitan Orchestra and, on the sublime “Books”, Paul was joined on-stage by Lucy Rose and three incredible musicians: Sheema Mukherjee, Kamalbir Nandra and Tofail Ahmed playing Sitar, Tanpura and Indian Violin. Ably assisted by conductor/arranger Hannah Peel there was, at times, a total of 24 musicians onstage.

Some praise for Paul's latest album 'True Meanings';
“One of Weller’s greatest albums.” – The Sunday Times.
“Almost flawless.” – Mojo.
“An album of beauty and depth.” – Daily Telegraph.
“Weller’s song-writing is just as strong as it ever was.” – GQ.
“Luscious and uncomplicated.” – Uncut.

01. One Bright Star
02. Glide
03. The Soul Searchers
04. Boy About Town
05. Have You Ever Had It Blue
06. What Would He Say?
07. Wild Wood
08. Country
09. Aspects
10. Strange Museum
11. Amongst Butterflies
12. Old Castles
13. Gravity
14. Where'er Ye Go
15. A Man Of Great Promise
16. Mayfly
17. Private Hell
18. Tales From The Riverbank
19. Movin On
20. Long Long Road
21. Hopper
22. White Horses
23. Books
24. You Do Something To Me
25. May Love Travel With You

Artist Paul Weller
Filed Under Indie & Alternative