Robbie Robertson - Sinematic

  • Robbie Robertson - Sinematic

Robbie Robertson - Sinematic


FormatCD & 2LP
Released20th September 2019
Catalogue 7797081
Barcode 0602577970818

The title says it all, Sinematic, Robbie Robertson’s sixth solo album, sprang from a deep immersion in film work, his own dramatic life story and a fascination with the darker corridors of human nature. Robbie sings the opening verse on the album with malevolent delight: “Shall we take a little spin/To the dark side of town?”

It sets the stage for gripping tales of villainy and vice, for character studies of mobsters and gangsters embroiled in corruption and crime and for melancholy stories about destruction and devastation. Narrated in Robertson’s cool parched croon, the yarns unspool over his tasteful vibrant guitar stylings and a bedrock of moody, mid-tempo rock anchored on most tracks by bassist Pino Palladino (John Mayer Trio, The Who) and drummer Chris Dave (D’Angelo, Adele).

Produced by Robertson and recorded at The Village, the 13-song collection is the songwriter’s first set of originals since 2011’s introspective collaboration with Eric Clapton, How To Become Clairvoyant.

1. I Hear You Paint Houses
2. Once Were Brothers
3. Dead End Kid
4. Hardwired
5. Walk In Beauty Way
6. Let Love Reign
7. Shanghai Blues
8. Wandering Souls
9. Street Serenade
10. The Shadow
11. Beautiful Madness
12. Praying For Rain
13. Remembrance

Filed Under Indie & Alternative