Seed Ensemble


£16.99 £23.99
  • Seed Ensemble - Driftglass
17th May 2019 / CD or LP / Jazz Re:freshed

Seed Ensemble


£16.99 £23.99

+ Always happy to stock records by musicians who've gone to the effort of working our little ol' shop name into their album title... But! No persuasion necessary on this one as all of these people are ON FIRE.

The long-awaited debut album from emerging London-based collective SEED Ensemble.

Formed in 2016, SEED Ensemble is a ten-piece project led by composer, arranger and alto saxophonist Cassie Kinoshi. Already a giant on the UK jazz scene, she is known for her work with all-female jazz septet, Nerija, and afrobeat jazz group, Kokoroko.

Combining jazz with inner-city London, West African and Caribbean influenced groove, Cassie Kinoshi’s SEED Ensemble explores a blend of genres through both original compositions and arrangements. “SEED Ensemble is my way of celebrating the vibrant and distinctive diversity that has significantly influenced what British culture has become over the centuries.

Projecting this new musical vision are some of London’s most up-and-coming young jazz musicians essential to the modern identity of British jazz including tuba player Theon Cross, trumpeter Sheila Maurice-Grey, tenor saxophonist Chelsea Carmichael and one of London’s leading guitarists, Shirley Tetteh.

Across ‘Driftglass’, Kinoshi embraces styles both past and present to create something that we can call modern. Band members cut across race and gender with original compositions inspired by the social issues of our times.

Cassie Kinoshi – Alto Saxophone & Composer
Miguel Gorodi - Trumpet
Sheila Maurice – Grey – Trumpet
Chelsea Carmichael – Tenor Saxophone & Flute
Joe Bristow – Trombone
Theon Cross – Tuba
Joe Armon-Jones – Piano & Rhodes (WAKE (For Grenfell), Stargaze #1: KATIN, The Dreamkeeper, Interplanetary Migration)
Sarah Tandy – Piano & Rhodes (Stargaze #2: LAU, The Darkies, Mirrors, Afronaut)
Shirley Tetteh – Guitar
Rio Kai – Double Bass
Patrick Boyle – Drums

Lyrics by Langston Hughes ('The Dreamkeeper', 'W A K E (for Grenfell)'
'Stargaze #1': LAU arr. of Eric Lau’s 'Earthing Out'
Additional Vocals ('W A K E (for Grenfell)': Jason Yarde.

XANA – poetry/spoken-word.
Mr. Ekow – poetry/spoken word.
Cherise Adams-Burnett – vocals.

Album artwork by Sophie Bass.

1. The Darkies
2. Afronaut (feat. XANA)
3. Stargaze #1: KATIN
4. The Dream Keeper (feat. Cherise Adams-Burnett)
5. WAKE (For Grenfell)
6. Stargaze #2: LAU
7. Mirrors
8. Interplanetary Migration (feat. Mr Ekow)

Format /CD or LP
Released /17th May 2019
Catalogue / JFR0016
Barcode / 5050580706880
Artist / Seed Ensemble
Genre / Jazz
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.