Shame - Songs of Praise [Picture Disc LP]

Out of Stock
  • Shame - Songs of Praise [Picture Disc LP]

Shame - Songs of Praise [Picture Disc LP]

Out of Stock

Released30th November 2018
Catalogue DOC144PIC
Barcode 656605370132

+ Super limited picture disc LP version of Shame's debut LP. Only a few copies in the offing, only going out to Indie shops.
+ This is a small overflow from a Japanese-exclusive pressing. Get stuck in NOW.

Shame thrives on confrontation. Whether it be the seething intensity crackling throughout LP 'Songs of Praise' or the adrena-line-pumping chaos that unfolds at Shame’s shows, it’s all fuelled by feeling. NPR’s Bob Boilen noted, “Of the 70 bands I saw at this year’s SXSW, the band Shame seemed to mean what they played more than any other.”

Comprised of vocalist Charlie Steen, guitarists Sean Coyle-Smith and Eddie Green, bassist John Finerty, and drummer Charlie Forbes, the London-based five-piece began as school boys. From the outset, Shame built the band up from a foundation of DIY ethos while citing The Fall and Wire among its biggest musical influences. Utilizing both the grit and sincerity of that musical background, Shame carved out a niche in the South London music scene and then barreled fearlessly into the angular, thrashing post-punk that would go on to make up Songs of Praise, their Dead Oceans debut.

From 'Gold Hole,' a tongue-in-cheek takedown of rock narcissism, to lead single 'Concrete' detailing the overwhelming moment of realising a relationship is doomed, to the frustrated “Tasteless” taking aim at the monotony of people droning through their day-to-day, 'Songs of Praise' never pauses to catch its breath.

Side A
1. Dust On Trial
2. Concrete
3. One Rizla
4. The Lick
5. Tasteless

Side B
6. Donk
7. Gold Hole
8. Friction
9. Lampoon
10. Angie
Artist Shame
Filed Under Indie & Alternative