Sinkane - Dépaysé

  • Sinkane - Dépaysé

Sinkane - Dépaysé


FormatCD & LP
Released31st May 2019
Catalogue SLANG50212LT
Barcode 4250506832865

Sinkane is an artist with a real stake in our current cultural and political climate. Born in London to Sudanese parents, raised in Ohio, and now calling New York City home, Ahmed Gallab refines his sound and message to peak form on his new studio album Dépaysé meaning 'to be removed from one’s habitual surroundings' in French.  The band features Gallab, Elenna Canlas (keys and vocals), Jonny Lam (guitar), Ish Montgomery (bass), and Chris St Hilaire (drums).

“Sinkane is an American band comprised of people from all over the world,” says Gallab in his bio letter for Dépaysé. “Our collective experience as children of the diaspora helped bring the music to life in the most honest way possible.” He adds, “Dépaysé is the story of an immigrant’s journey of self-discovery in the Trump era. The music is loud and raw, and it's bursting with an energy unlike anything I’ve ever done before.”

Gallab says "Everybody" is “dedicated to the brave men, women and children fighting against oppression in places like Brazil, Sudan, and all over the world  تسقط_بس”

Indies only format LP is pressed on orange vinyl.

A1. Everybody
A2. Everyone
A3. On Being
A4. Dépaysé Side
B1. Ya Sudan
B2. Stranger
B3. Be Here Now
B4. The Searching
B5. Mango

Artist Sinkane
LabelCity Slang
Filed Under Indie & Alternative