Future Past Life

  • STRFKR - Future Past Life
31st July 2020 / LP or CD / Polyvinyl


Future Past Life


Transatlantic 'dance-pop rock-gaze' from the US West Coast via Amsterdam, bringing dreaminess to the dancefloor.

STRFKR has always been a constantly evolving entity, growing over the years from rambunctious beginnings into the manicured electropop perfection they exhibited on their last studio album, 2016’s pristine 'Being No One, Going Nowhere'.

+ Indie shop version LP is pressed on orange coloured vinyl.

Their new album 'Future Past Life' breaks new ground, dialling back some of the high-gloss production they’re known for to craft songs that are stripped down, spaced out and somehow as visceral as they are dream-like.

In 2014, STRFKR’s principal songwriter / lead vocalist Josh Hodges was staying in Amsterdam for a few months, working on the music that became 2016's 'Being No One, Going Nowhere'. By complete chance, a European traveller who was crashing at Hodges’ house in L.A. while he was abroad connected him with some like-minded musicians in Amsterdam, Mathias Janmat and David Hoogerheide.

Even though they were more or less strangers, the three musicians clicked almost instantly, coming up with new songs that would eventually make up the bulk of 'Future Past Life'. The immaculate but danceable pop that has long been STRFKR’s calling card is pushed into exciting new places on 'Future Past Life'.

It’s a strange and beautiful sonic environment, one that finds STRFKR growing as they embrace the chance and spontaneity that brought these songs about in the first place.

1. Dear Stranger 
2. Never The Same 
3. Deep Dream 03:40 
4. Second Hand 
5. Better Together
6. Budapest (Feat. Shy Boys) 
7. Palm Reader 
8. Sea Foam 
9. Pink Noise 
10. Cold Comfort 

Format /LP or CD
Released /31st July 2020
Catalogue / PRC408LPC1
Barcode / 00000000408
Artist / STRFKR
Label /Polyvinyl
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.