Sturgill Simpson - A Sailor’s Guide To Earth

Sold out
  • Sturgill Simpson - A Sailor’s Guide To Earth

Sturgill Simpson - A Sailor’s Guide To Earth

Sold out

InfoCD & LP15th April 2016

Sturgill Simpson delivers the self produced 'A Sailor’s Guide To Earth', the follow-up to his 2014 album Metamodern Sounds in Country Music.

In a press release, Simpson discussed his inspiration for the record:

I really questioned whether I wanted to spend however many more years on this bus, not being there and seeing all that was happening. That’s where this record came from, just processing all that guilt and homesickness. I had to figure out a way to put that into music, so I decided to write the whole record from the perspective of a sailor going to sea and not knowing if he's ever coming home. I remembered an old letter that I read, written by my Grandfather Ora to my grandmother when he was in the Army. He was in the South Pacific during World War II, and he thought he was going to die. So he wrote a goodbye letter to her and their newborn son. He finally made it home five years later.

He added: I knew I wanted to make a concept record in song-cycle form, like my favorite Marvin Gaye records where everything just continuously flows. I also wanted it to be something that when my son is older and maybe I'm gone, he can listen to it and get a sense of who I was. I just wanted to talk as directly to him as possible.

Recorded primarily at Nashville’s ‘The Butcher Shoppe’, Simpson was joined in the studio by Grammy Award-winning engineer David Ferguson (Johnny Cash, John Prime, ‘Cowboy’ Jack Clement) and assistant engineer Sean Sullivan. Along with members of his touring band, the album features Dave Roe on bass, Dan Dugmore on steel guitar, Dougie Wilkinson on bagpipes, Garo Yellin and Arthur Cook on cello, Jonathan Dinklage and Whitney LaGrange on violin and special guests The Dap-Kings.

01. Welcome to Earth (Pollywog)
02. Breakers Roar
03. Keep It Between the Lines
04. Sea Stories 
05. In Bloom 
06. Brace for Impact (Live a Little) 
07. All Around You 
08. Oh Sarah 
09. Call to Arms