Swamp Dogg - Sorry You Couldn't Make It

  • Swamp Dogg - Sorry You Couldn't Make It

Swamp Dogg - Sorry You Couldn't Make It


FormatCD & LP
Released6th March 2020
Catalogue JNR327LPC1
Barcode 0753936905054

The LP format is expected into stock on 27th March 2020

Sorry You Couldn't Make It is the long awaited "country album" from the legendary Swamp Dogg. Recorded in Nashville, featuring John Prine, Justin Vernon, Jenny Lewis, and others. While the 77 year-old Williams’ most enduring persona is the psychedelic soul superhero Swamp Dogg a musical vigilante upholding truths both personal and political since 1970’s immortal album, Total Destruction To Your Mind he will tell anybody who will listen that he’s considered himself country this entire time.

Sorry You Couldn’t Make It allows Swamp to finally dive into the sound he grew up playing. With the support of Pioneer Works Press, they recorded the album at Nashville’s Sound Emporium with Olson as producer once again, and backed by a crack studio band led by Derick Lee, a keyboard virtuoso who worked as the musical director of BET’s Bobby Jones Gospel Show for nearly four decades. Nashville guitar firebrand Jim Oblon combusts his way through lead duties, while frequent collaborator Moogstar and special guests Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), John Prine, Jenny Lewis, Channy Leaneagh and Chris Beirden of Poliça, and Sam Amidon join the action throughout.

A band of 14 players, including Vernon, Lee, Beirden, and Moogstar, among others, provides the background for Swamp’s devastating new take on Don’t Take Her (She’s All I Got). Lead single Sleeping Without You Is A Dragg is one of Swamp’s most heartfelt songs to date and features Vernon on piano as well as backing vocals by Lewis and Leaneagh. He duets with country-folk legend Prine on two songs. Originally written and demoed in his forties, Please Let Me Go Round Again is a plea for one more chance at life, sung with acute emotional connection.

Artist Swamp Dogg
Filed Under Indie & Alternative