The Pop Group - Y Live

  • The Pop Group - Y Live

The Pop Group - Y Live


Released20th March 2020
Catalogue TPGYL1
Barcode 5400863020316

The Y Live album is an essential addendum to the original release, one that captures all the fierce urgency of The Pop Group’s live performances at the time. Comprised of Y era recordings captured at a variety of locations including New York, Manchester and Brussels – the latter on a bill with William Burroughs and Joy Division – Y Live exemplifies what had proved so thrilling about The Pop Group. A snapshot of a time when the group were sharing stages with future acolytes including Cabaret Voltaire, Linton Kwesi Johnson and Public Image Ltd, Mark Stewart describes the recordings as attempts to ‘paint the impossible’.

Mark Stewart from the band embarked on a solo career releasing his pioneering album Learning To Live With Cowardice in 1983. Gareth Sager and Bruce Smith went on to form Rip Rig & Panic alongside Neneh Cherry. The Pop Group reformed in 2010 to tour and have since released 2 new studio albums.

“This is a record of dire necessity, armed for combat against a long litany of ills—none more than typicality.”  Pitchfork

LP includes original tour poster

A1  Thief Of Fire (Live)
A2  Snowgirl (Live)
A3  Blood Money (Live)
A4  Savage Sea (Live)
A5  We Are Time (Live)
B1   Words Disobey Me (Live)
B2   Don't Call Me Pain (Live) 
B3   Boys From Brazil (Live)
B4   Don't Sell Your Dreams (Live) 

Artist The Pop Group
Filed Under Indie & Alternative