The Souljazz Orchestra - Resistance

Sold out
  • The Souljazz Orchestra - Resistance

The Souljazz Orchestra - Resistance

Sold out

InfoCD & LP4th September

Canada’s powerhouse Afro / Latin / Tropical collective, The Souljazz Orchestra, return in September 2015 with a powerhouse new album that sees the ensemble exploring some new sonic territory.

“We approached this album with a fresh ear,” explains bandleader Pierre Chrétien. “We were keen to build on the band’s sound and message, bringing in some of the French Caribbean and Francophone West African influences that we’ve loved since our youth, so the new album brings in French language tracks and elements of coupé-décalé, zouk and cadence to the overall mix.”

The Souljazz Orchestra remain one of the most solid units in their scene, retaining their original line-up since they were first formed back in 2002. On Resistance, they showcase their continuing versatility with saxman Ray Murray, percussionist Marielle Rivard, drummer Philippe Lafrenière and keyboardist Pierre Chrétien all taking on lead vocal duties on different tracks.

1. Greet The Dawn
2. Shock And Awe
3. Courage
4. As The World Turns
5. Life Is What You Make It
6. Bull’S Eye
7. Soleil Couchant
8. Ware Wa
9. Kossa Kossa
10. It’s Gonna Rain

Filed Funk & Soul