Titus Andronicus - An Obelisk

  • Titus Andronicus - An Obelisk

Titus Andronicus - An Obelisk


FormatCD & LP
Released21st June 2019
Catalogue MRG676CD
Barcode 0673855067629

An Obelisk is the sixth album from Titus Andronicus, which finds the band under stewardship of producer and legendary rocker Bob Mould (Hüsker Dü, Sugar).

+ Indie stores only grey and black vinyl in matte jacket.

All vinyl has a download code.

This trans-generational meeting of minds has yielded the most immediate and unadorned Titus Andronicus record to date. Clocking in at 38 minutes, it is also the shortest. Recorded over six days at Steve Albini’s Electrical Audio studio in Chicago, An Obelisk presents the sound of Titus Andronicus, rock band, at its most irreducible, as monolithic as the album’s titular monument.

Titus Andronicus is led by singer-songwriter Patrick Stickles, now flanked by longtime guitarist Liam Betson and the indomitable rhythm section of R.J. Gordon on bass and Chris Wilson on drums. This album is the first release to showcase this new lineup from tip to tail, each track bearing the distinctive fingerprints of each musician, their particular chemistry honed through extensive touring and rigorous rehearsals. Excepting the background vocals of Ralph Darden (Ted Leo and the Pharmacists), no outside musicians were utilised.

1. Just Like Ringing a Bell 
2. Troubleman Unlimited 
3. (I Blame) Society 
4. My Body and Me
5. Hey Ma 
6. Beneath the Boot 
7. On the Street 
8. Within the Gravitron 
9. The Lion Inside 
10. Tumult Around the World 

Filed Under Indie & Alternative