Tom Sanders

Only Magic

  • Tom Sanders - Only Magic
4th December 2020 / Ltd LP / Moshi Moshi

Tom Sanders

Only Magic


An album of indie-folk, "deep-blue happiness" from the instantly-recognisable frontman of Teleman.

This release is listed for pre order, with a scheduled release date of 4th December 2020. It is also listed at a special discounted pre order price that will revert to full price during week of release. Please note, if you purchase any item that is a pre order, your order will ship once all of the items in that order are in stock. You can read more about our shipping policies here.

London-based songwriter and frontman of much-loved UK band Teleman, Tom Sanders has announced the release of his debut album ‘Only Magic’,

+ Limited Indie shop version LP is pressed on 'Tropical Pearl' coloured vinyl.

Releasing music for the first time under his own name, Sanders has worked to deliver an irresistibly charming collection of tracks for ‘Only Magic’ with similarities around struggles and adventures in life and relationships in the modern world.

The single ‘Little Human’ is an infectiously wistful indie-folk track which finds Sanders reflecting on life lessons to his daughter, and detailing his own personal journey to growing up. His instantly recognisable vocal adds a genuine poignancy.

“This song started out as a song for my daughter, but became a song for anybody really. I’m also singing the words to myself as much as anyone else. The chorus is more for us- the grownups- who fail to understand that the world doesn’t revolve around them. I’ve definitely been that person at times and I know a few others!” Sanders explains.

“It’s incredible but also really sad watching a child grow up and lose forever another layer of innocence and sweetness. And then comes the realisation that you can’t protect them from anything at all, and it hurts to think that other people in life will hurt them, and confuse them. But then you understand that is just life and maybe they too will hurt and confuse people, because that’s what people do.”

Well-known for fronting Teleman, Sanders performs as singer and guitarist for the group which has released three seminal albums to widespread critical acclaim from the likes of The Guardian and Drowned In Sound.

“Making this record really took something out of me; I feel like I might have put too much into it” Sanders reflects on writing towards his album. “But it’s not a sadness that I hear listening back, it's more a kind of deep blue happiness.”

An exciting single steeped in emotion, ‘Little Human’ is the first single to come out ahead of Tom Sanders’ enthralling debut album via Moshi Moshi Records.

1. Most Of The Time
2. Fly For A While
3. Lonesome High
4. Baby All You've Got
5. Touch Down
6. Distant Light
7. Little Human
8. Tom Quixote
9. Spanish Flat
10. It's Only Magic

Format /Ltd LP
Released /4th December 2020
Catalogue / MOSHILP107
Barcode / 5060164958413
Artist / Tom Sanders
Label /Moshi Moshi
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...