Tony Allen

There Is No End

  • Tony Allen - There Is No End
7th May 2021 / 2LP or CD / Blue Note
"More cohesive than many a posthumous release, Allen’s legacy is well-served here, especially on the more experimental tracks"

Tony Allen

There Is No End


An experimental and deeply creative farewell to one of the greatest.

The wisdom of Tony Allen's words was as deep as his grooves, and these two sentences, which announce the dozen songs that follow, truly capture the spirit of There is No End. Tony’s motivating concept and desire was to work with younger artists, and especially the new generation of rappers, and give them voice in a time of global turmoil when music has never been more important – not necessarily as a "weapon" for the future in the manner of Fela's violently political songs, but also as medicine to heal a fractured world today.

For all those who knew him, he was a deeply spiritual man whose life's mission was not just to create a new musical language, but to pass it on to subsequent generations. In thinking back on the incredible process of creating this album without Tony physically present to guide him, producer Vincent Taeger remarked that his friend and mentor "was a teacher without speaking... a drummer and a guardian, with a great artistic vision and that vision filled the songs even after he had left us."

Ben Okri, like everyone else involved in this valedictory album, had a very similar experience, declaring in awe that "this man could have lived another 150 years and kept creating new worlds. He had become the master shaman of his art. He knew himself and his mind. He wanted the album to be open to the energies of a new generation... but like a great mathematician or scientist who found a code of for a new world, with just a few beats, he created this extraordinary canvas."

Featured artists include Skepta, Sampa The Great, Lava La Rue, Danny Brown, Damon Albarn and many others. 

1. There Is No End
2. Rich Black Feat. Koreatown Oddity
3. Coonta Kinte Feat. Zelooperz
4. One Inna Million Feat. Lava La Rue
5. Stumbling Down Feat. Sampa The Great
6. Crushed Grapes Feat. Lord Jah-Monte Ogbon
7. Gang On Holiday (Em I Go We?) Feat. Jeremiah Jae
8. Mau Mau Feat. Nah Eeto
9. Très magnifique Feat. Tsunami
10. Hurt Your Soul Feat. Nate Bone
11. Cosmosis Feat. Ben Okri + Skepta
12. My Own Feat. Marlowe

Format /2LP or CD
Released /7th May 2021
Catalogue / 3541180
Barcode / 0602435411804
Artist / Tony Allen
Label /Blue Note
Genre / Jazz
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.