Tycho - Epoch

  • Tycho - Epoch

Tycho - Epoch


InfoCD & LP20th January 2017

Epoch hones the sonic aesthetic of Dive while drawing on the kinetic energy of Awake, it explores darker themes and new musical territory. Earlier this summer Tycho released their first single “Division” and just last week released their second single and title track, “Epoch.”

When discussing the surprise element of this release Hansen said, “I've never been fond of the ‘hand in the album then wait 4 months for it to come out’ release schedule and with the prevalence of streaming and digital distribution it felt like the right time to step outside that way of doing things.” He continued, “I wanted to be more connected to the people consuming the music. There is a kind of visceral fulfillment you get from sharing something that you've just created with other people. We just finished mastering the album in late august so it will barely be a month old when people hear it. That's a very satisfying feeling as an artist.“

Epoch was produced and recorded by Hansen predominantly in his home studio in Berkeley, California. The album was arranged alongside long time collaborator and partner in the project, Zac Brown. Brown contributed bass and guitar parts to the songwriting process. Rory O’Connor performed drums on the album. Hansen sees Epoch as a multi-dimensional artistic vision at the confluence of his graphic design work via ISO50 and music with Tycho. The graphic presentation of album artwork is as important as the music itself. The keystone is the central image of Epoch and the colors scheme red and black. This is a stark contrast to the almost rainbow palette of Awake.

01. Division
02. Glider
03. Slack
04. Source
05. Epoch
06. Horizon
07. Rings
08. Reciever
09. Continuum
10. Local
11. Afield

Artist Tycho