Various Artists

Heavenly Remixes 1 & 2

  • Various Artists - Heavenly Remixes 1 & 2
10th December 2021 / CD / Heavenly Recordings

Various Artists

Heavenly Remixes 1 & 2


The complete bundle of proper lush remixes from the Heavenly bunch.

Released: 10th December 2021
This release is available for pre order and has a scheduled release date of 10th December 2021. In the event of any delays we will try to keep this page updated. It is listed at a special discounted pre order price that will revert to full price during the week of release. Please note, If you make a purchase that includes a pre-order item together with an in-stock item in the same order, we will typically hold your box until all items are in stock before we ship. You can read more about our shipping policies here.

Heavenly was all but founded on the art of the remix; the label’s sadly departed friend Andrew Weatherall remixed the first ever release, and the label has built up an immense catalogue in the intervening years that demonstrates all that is good about the art form and on Friday 10th December 2021 the label release Heavenly Remixes Vol 1 & 2, a brace of albums documenting this long history.

A label forged in the white-hot heat of post-acid house Britain, these Heavenly remixes are perfectly weighted with respect and irreverence, the remixer in each case carefully chosen to add heft to the song - the tracks across the 2 albums are curated, remixed and delivered with love (and a teensy bit of impertinence) and are a glimpse into the catalogue of one the UK’s finest independent labels. 

There may well be no rhyme, nor reason, to how these compilations have been put together, beyond the fact that they are assembled with love, an innate understanding of the power of great pop music, and a skilled marriage of song and remixer.

There is no sense of order to Volume 1. You’ll find a smattering of older tracks: album openers Saint Etienne are taken on a Poseidon Adventure with Underworld, who inject ‘Cool Kids of Death’ with typically manic energy. Elsewhere, ’90s Brum duo Mother add dance-floor pzazz to Espiritu’s innate glamour on an all-funked-up reworking of ‘Los Americanos’, and Mark Lusardi’s remix of Moonflowers’ ‘Get Higher’ is an early Heavenly classic. 

Though not purposely themed, beyond being judiciously chosen as the catalogue’s finest gems, there’s a tiny hint of psychedelia about Volume 2 that is hard to ignore. Firstly, there are the acid contributions from Gabe Gurnsey, who knows his way around a coruscating bassline, and from Graham Massey, whose impeccable credentials in 808 State are brought to bear on ‘Valleys’, by young turks Working Men’s Club (acid house being modern psychedelia, whether the rock press approves or not).  


  1.   Saint Etienne – Cool Kids Of Death (Underworld Mix)
  2.   Unloved – Why Not (Gwenno Remix)
  3.   Nots – Reactor (Mikey Remix)
  4.   Mildlife – Automatic (Jono Ma Ascend Mix)
  5.   Espiritu – Los Americanos (Mother Mix)
  6.   Confidence Man – Out The Window (Greg & Che Wilson mix)
  7.   Mattiel – Guns Of Brixton (Rub-A-Dub Style Pt.2)
  8.   Baxter Dury – Miami (Parrot and Cocker Too Remix)
  9.   Jimi Goodwin – Terracotta Warrior (Andy Votel’s Spazio 1975 de-mix)
  10. Working Mens Club – X (Minsky Rock Remix)
  11. Moonflowers – Get Higher (Get Dubber Mix)
  12. Raf Rundell – Monsterpiece (Harvey Sutherland Remix)
  13. Cherry Ghost – Finally (Time & Space Machine Edit) 


  1.   Halo Maud – Des Bras (Andy Votel Remix)
  2.   Boy Azooga – Face Behind Her Cigarette (Mikey Young Remix)
  3.   Doves – Jetstream (Lindstrom Remix)            
  4.   The Orielles – It Makes You Forget (Dicky Trisco & Pete Herbert Remix)
  5.   Katy J Pearson – Take Back The Radio (Flying Mojito Bros Mojito Refrito)
  6.   Confidence Man – First Class Bitch (Raf Rundell’s Party Nails Remix)
  7.   audiobooks – Friends In The Bubble Bath (Gabe Gurnsey Gamma Ray Remix)
  8.   Gwenno – Chwlydro (R.Seilog Remix)
  9.   Working Men’s Club – Valleys (Graham Massey Acid Mix)
  10. Saint Etienne – Filthy (Monkey Mafia Mix)
  11. Night Beats – Sunday Morning (Jono Ma Remix)
  12. M Craft – Chemical Trails (Beyond The Wizards Sleeve Re-animation)

Are you looking for the VINYL edition? Volume ONE is here, and Volume TWO is here

Format /CD
Released /10th December 2021
Catalogue / HVNLP188CD
Barcode / 5400863045197
Artist / Various Artists
Genre / Compilations
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.