Various Artists - Negro Folklore From Texas State Prisons

  • Various Artists - Negro Folklore From Texas State Prisons

Various Artists - Negro Folklore From Texas State Prisons


FormatCD or LP
Released18th October 2019
Catalogue MOOCHIN22
Barcode 5051083151177

The CD format is expected in stock on 5th November 2019

The recordings on this album were made in Texas prison farms in July 1964. Bruce Jackson had gone there in the hope of recording black convict work-songs, a tradition that derived from slavery, and, before that, was imported from Africa.

Many of the prisons in Texas, Mississippi and Louisiana where such songs had been sung, had been built on the sites of slaverytime plantations. It was as if the owners changed, but not much else.

Bruce found far more than worksongs. Prison is a place where people live: when they go there, they bring with them pieces of free world culture, just as someone migrating from one country to another brings cultural knowledge and practice to the new home.

In addition to the worksongs, he heard spirituals, blues, toasts (recited poems), and much more. In this LP, , he tries to give a sense of that range of material. (In other recordings, he would focus on work songs, toasts, and personal narrative.)

This iconic album has now been re-mastered and features the original artwork in full.

Recorded and edited by Bruce Jackson
Cover by Eric Von Schmidt
Remastered by Nick Blagona, 2019

+ LP Includes 22 page lyric book and download code for complete album

1. Raise ’Em Up Higher
2. Don't Look So Downhearted, Buddy
3. Move Along ’Gator
4. Three Moore Brothers
5. Assassination of the President
6. Don’t Be Uneasy
7. Rattler.
8. Hammer Ring
9. T.B. Bees
10. If You See My Mother
11. Just Like a Tree Planted by the Water
12. See How They Done My Lord
13. Daniel in the Lions’ Den
14. Forty-four Hammers

Filed Under Compilations