Various Artists

Ryley Walker Presents Imaginational Anthem Vol. 9

  • Various Artists - Ryley Walker Presents Imaginational Anthem Vol. 9
20th September 2019 / CD & LP / Tompkins Square

Various Artists

Ryley Walker Presents Imaginational Anthem Vol. 9


Tompkins Square label's very first release in 2005 was the acoustic guitar compilation, Imaginational Anthem Volume One. The concept was to showcase new talents alongside first-gen American Primitive guitar legends, a formula that stuck across the first three volumes.

Volume Four, released in 2010, featured all contemporary players, giving many folks their first taste of William Tyler, C Joynes, Chris Forsyth and Tyler Ramsey. The label then started farming out curation duties to others : Sam Moss for Volume 5, Chris
King for Volume 6 (Origins of American Primitive Guitar), Hayden Pedigo for Volume 7, and Michael Klausman & Brooks Rice for Volume 8 (The Private Press). Tompkins Square recruited label alum Ryley Walker to compile Volume Nine. Given his deep Rolodex and exquisite taste, it's no surprise that this comp is probably the most diverse of the series.

Nine of the eleven artists were previously unknown to us, so we get to discover new artists just like our label fans do.

1. Mosses - Om Ah Hung
2. Shane Parrish - Leicester Hwy
3. Eli Winter - Woodlawn Waltz
4. Dida Pelled - Walkin' My Cat Named Dog
5. Kendra Amalie - Boat Ride
6. Matthew Sage - Camaro Canyon
7. Pete Fosco - Variations on Themes for Blind Dogs
8. Fire-Toolz - World of Objects (Guitar Edit)
9. Lucas Brode - Knots Where Never Was
10. Dave Miller – Seedlings
11. Matthew Rolin - I Used To Sing

Format /CD & LP
Released /20th September 2019
Catalogue / TSQ5654
Barcode / 0856225005654
Artist / Various Artists
Genre / Compilations
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.