Ode To Joy

  • Wilco - Ode To Joy
4th October 2019 / CD & LP / dBpm Records
"... if not necessarily trying to accrue new fans then at least reminding existing ones that they still have something significant to offer."
"Wilco’s 11th album is direct and spacious, centering on the beauty of quiet revelation."


Ode To Joy


+ Limited Indie Shop Exclusive LP, only available to bricks shops that take part in Record Store Day. Only 750 copies pressed on pink coloured vinyl for the UK.

Ode to Joy - the 11th studio album from the pioneering Chicago rock band Wilco - released via dBpm Records.

The album features 11 new songs written and produced by Jeff Tweedy and recorded by Wilco at the bands' own Chicago studio dubbed The Loft.

Of the lead track - 'Love is Everywhere (Beware)', Jeff Tweedy wrote,
"there MUST be more love than hate. Right?! I’m not always positive we can be so sure. In any case, I’m starting to feel like being confident in that equation isn’t always the best motivation for me to be my best self – it can kind of let me off the hook a little bit when I think I should be striving to contribute more love outside of my comfortable sphere of family and friends.
So… I guess the song is sort of a warning to myself that YES, Love IS EVERYWHERE, but also BEWARE! I can’t let that feeling absolve me of my duty to create more."

Wilco’s last album, 'Shmilco', was released in 2016 and was very popular roun' these parts. Jeff Tweedy has released two solo albums in the last year: 'Warm' came out in November of last year and its follow-up (wait for it) 'Warmer' was released exclusively on vinyl in April 2019. He also released a memoir in November 2019, which we were lucky enough to have signed copies of in Drift.

Back in the mists of time, Wilco debuted as a rough-and-tumble alt-country act and evolved into a mature and eclectic indie rock ensemble. They rose from the ashes of the seminal roots rock band Uncle Tupelo, which disbanded in 1994. Jeff Tweedy established Wilco along with the other members of Tupelo's final incarnation, which included drummer Ken Coomer as well as part-time bandmates John Stirratt (bass) and Max Johnston (mandolin, banjo, fiddle, and lap steel). Guitarist Jay Bennett rounded out the group, which in 1995 issued its debut album, 'A.M.', a collection of spry country-rock tunes that followed the course established in Tweedy's earlier work.

Side A
1. Bright Leaves
2. Before Us
3. One and a Half Stars
4. Quiet Amplifier
5. Everyone Hides

Side B
1. White Wooden Cross
2. Citizens
3. We Were Lucky
4. Love Is Everywhere (Beware)
5. Hold Me Anyway
6. An Empty Corner

Format /CD & LP
Released /4th October 2019
Catalogue / 51497114534
Barcode / 0051497114534
Artist / Wilco
Label /dBpm Records
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Playlist

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £75.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Playlist: 10th July 2020

Plenty to get hyped on. This week's playlist features Laura Marling, Margo Price, The Beths, The Streets, NZCA LINES, Julianna Barwick, Paint, Surprise Chef, DMA's, Mr Ben & The Bens and more...