Wire - 154

Out of Stock
  • Wire - 154

Wire - 154

Out of Stock

FormatCD & LP
Released18th May 2018
Catalogue PF13CD
Barcode 5024545812527

Wire’s first three albums - 'Pink Flag,' 'Chairs Missing' and '154' need no introduction. They are the three classic albums on which Wire’s reputation is based. Moreover, they are the recordings that minted the post-punk form. This was adopted by other bands, but Wire were there first.  Each album is presented as an 80-page hardback book – the size of a 7-inch, but obviously much thicker. After a special introduction by Jon Savage, Graham Duff provides insight into each track. These texts include recording details, brand-new interviews with band members, and lyrics.

+ Special Edition 2CD plus Book is released 18th May 2018.
+ CD and LP editions follow on 22nd June 2018.

The original album is presented on its own CD, accompanied by discs that feature relevant extra tracks: singles; B-sides; demos; and many previously unreleased songs. 'Pink Flag' is a two-CD set; 'Chairs Missing' and '154' have three CDs each. All audio has been painstakingly remastered (or, in some cases, mastered for the first time).

This stunning set of presentations also includes a range of images from the archive of Annette Green. Wire’s official photographer during this period, Green also shot the covers for 'Pink Flag' and 'Chairs Missing.' Promotional and informal imagery – in colour and black and white – is featured throughout the books. Most of the photographs have not been seen for 40 years – and many have never been published anywhere before.

It has been a number of years since these albums were readily available. The aim with these new vinyl and CD releases is to approximate the original statements as closely as possible, but with remastered audio. The vinyl releases have the same covers and inners as the originals (minus the Harvest logo). The digipack CDs have identical tracklistings to their vinyl counterparts. These versions should be considered Wire’s classic 1970s albums, pure and undiluted.

Special Edition Tracklist:

Disc 1 (Original album)
01 I Should Have Known Better
02 Two People In A Room

03 The 15th

04 The Other Window
05 Single K.O.

06 A Touching Display
07 On Returning

08 A Mutual Friend

09 Blessed State

10 Once Is Enough

11 Map Ref. 41°N 93°W
12 Indirect Enquiries
13 40 Versions

Disc 2 (Singles, B-sides & studio recordings)
01 A Question Of Degree (single)
02 Former Airline (single)

03 Go Ahead (single)

04 Our Swimmer (single)
05 Midnight Bahnhof Caf e (single)

06 Our Swimmer [2nd Length] (single)
07 Catapult 30 (single)

08 Song 1 (154 EP)

09 Get Down 1 + 2 (154 EP)

10 Let's Panic Later (154 EP)

11 Small Electric Piece (154 EP)

Disc 3 (Studio demos)
Sixth Demo sessions
01 40 Versions

02 Ignorance No Plea (I Should Have Known Better)
03 Blessed State

04 A Touching Display

05 The 15th

06 A Mutual Friend

07 Once Is Enough

08 The Other Window

Artist Wire
LabelPink Flag
Filed Under Indie & Alternative