Yak - The Pursuit Of Momentary Happiness

  • Yak - The Pursuit Of Momentary Happiness

Yak - The Pursuit Of Momentary Happiness


FormatCD & LP
Released8th February 2019
Catalogue VX3218
Barcode 0602577269363

Few albums in rock ‘n’ roll history have seen its creator’s obsession veer so close to self-destruction, as Yak’s 'The Pursuit Of Momentary Happiness'. For singer, guitarist and driving force Oli Burslem, making his band’s second album became about pursuing his artistic vision at the expense of all else, including his own financial security, and mental health.

Who else these days invests every single penny available to them into recording, to the point where they become homeless, and have to sleep in the back of a Citroën estate? Listening to 'The Pursuit Of Momentary Happiness', you frequently feel the white-knuckle monomania of Yak’s mission. It’s one of those once-in-a-decade records, whose sheer sense of belief and commitment pulsates through every nanosecond of boundary-breaking sound – like Spiritualized’s Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space, and Tame Impala’s Innerspeaker, both of whose creators had a part to play in its genesis.

+ CD edition is a mintpack with Poster.

+ LP - Black Vinyl housed in Spined Sleeve with Inner Sleeve and Poster.

+ LP - Indie Edtion - Limited Beige Coloured Vinyl housed in Gatefold Sleeve with Inner Sleeve.

1. Bellyache
2. Fried
3. Pursuit Of Momentary Happiness
4. Words Fail Me
5. Blinded By The Lights
6. Interlude
7. White Male Carnivore
8. Pay Off VS. The Struggle
9. Encore
10. Layin' It On The Line
11. This House Has No Living Room (Featuring J.Spaceman)

Artist Yak
LabelVirgin EMI
Filed Under Indie & Alternative