El Michels Affair - Enter the 37th Chamber


15th Anniversary Edition of the cult classic instrumental album Enter the 37th Chamber, pressed on Yellow & Black Coloured Vinyl. 

The album consists entirely of cover versions of the Wu-Tang Clan and its members’ solo classics. Highlights include "C.R.E.A.M." (over 40 million streams on Spotify), ”Shimmy Shimmy Ya" and "Can It All Be So Simple". El Michels Affair is led by multi-instrumentalist and producer Leon Michels. After releasing other tribute albums including Return to the 37th Chamber, in the following decade, the group returned with original albums and collaborative projects with Freddie Gibbs & Madlib, Liam Bailey, and Black Thought of the Roots on 2023’s LP “Glorious Game.” Originally released on Fat Beats Records in 2009, El Michels Affair’s landmark album “Enter the 37th Chamber” is celebrating its 15th Anniversary in 2024. Featuring reinterpretations of hip hop anthems from the Wu-Tang Clan, the album took stripped-down, raw hip hop bangers and flipped them into richly-arranged instrumentals. Cover versions of tracks such as “C.R.E.A.M.” and “Can It All Be So Simple” instantly sounded as vintage as the records that RZA had sampled to create the originals, with the familiar melodies and driving rhythms elevated by expertly arranged horns and strings. The gritty and bottom-heavy style of these analog recordings—dubbed “Cinematic Soul”—has been both widely celebrated and often imitated. El Michels Affair namesake Leon Michels has since gone on to produce for and collaborate with artists as diverse as Adele, Black Thought, Lana Del Rey, and The Carters (Beyonce & Jay-Z). Now 15 years from its initial release, “Enter the 37th Chamber” has proven to be one of the true classic instrumental albums of its era, every bit as enduring as the music it was meant to pay homage to


1. Duel Of The Iron Mics
2. C.R.E.A.M.
3. Mystery Of Chessboxin'
4. Can It All Be So Simple
5. Uzi (Pinky Ring)
6. Interlude
7. Glaciers Of Ice
8. Cherchez La Ghost
9. Criminology
10. Heaven & Hell
11. Bring Da Ruckus
12. Protect Ya Neck
13. Incarcerated Scarfaces
14. Shimmy Shimmy Ya
15. Outro

Release Info

Release Date: 31st May 2024
Format: LP
Label: Fat Beats

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.

EXPLORE Curated music collections, latest recommendations; everything that you need to know!

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just €85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend €85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty