ROTW: SASAMI, William Basinski, Stella Donnelly, Foals, Indoor Pets, E.B. The Younger.

ROTW: SASAMI, William Basinski, Stella Donnelly, Foals, Indoor Pets, E.B. The Younger.

Hello, Friends.

Records of the Week lands slightly earlier today in your inbox because we have just this second announced that Dinked Edition No.12 will be Destroyer, the new studio LP from the mighty Black Mountain. Our Dinked pressing is on exclusive clear coke bottle coloured vinyl, with deluxe and bespoke die cut sleeve. It also includes a signed 12 x 12" print and is a numbered edition of just 600... so you know these are going to fly!

Record of the Week is the self-titled debut LP from SASAMI on Domino. The LP was predominately written over the last year (whilst on tour, playing keys and guitar with Cherry Glazerr) and has an intimate and conversational approach over it's ten tracks. Its melodic whilst prickly enough to remain super captivating, distorted guitar pop and hazy shapes. It's really pretty special this.

+ Limited Indie-shop-only LP is pressed on red coloured, heavyweight vinyl.

On Time Out of Time is the new studio album from William Basinski, one of the world’s most celebrated sound artists. Among other things, the album utilises exclusive source recordings from the interferometers of LIGO (Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory) capturing the sounds of the merging of two distant massive black holes, 1.3 billion years ago. It is incredibly moving and very powerful.

Beware Of The Dogs is Stella Donnelly's debut album. The Australian songwriter has a deliciously laid back delivery. Super present and confident, whilst perfectly breezy. Lyrically it lays it all on the line and is provocative, funny and really smart. Great vibes, great delivery.

+ Limited first pressing on opaque olive vinyl

After more than a decade at the front of the UK scene, Foals again embrace that love for the unconventional with two new albums as Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost. Part One is released today (Part Two is released late summer) and it really is massive, taking cues from their own musical history and producing arguably their grandest statement yet. Stadium sized with clever and tightly wound songs that sound like the same band making neurotic mathsy pop a decade ago. A fantastic record, deserves to be colossal. 


Be Content is the long-awaited debut album from Indoor Pets, following a string of much-loved singles for Alcopop!, East City Rockers and Wichita. Tense, powerful guitar pop songs.

+ This first LP pressing will be on limited edition white vinyl.

Italian duo Malihini release their debut album via Memphis Industries. Hopefully, Again is dreamy, really lush lo-fi pop.

+ Indies exclusive LP pressed on Orange vinyl

Eric Brandon Pulido, the current frontman of Texan legends Midlake embraces both past and present times for his glorious debut solo album, To Each His Own, under his new enigmatic alias E.B. The Younger. Big, AM radio gold, super into this.

+ Limited Edition LP pressed on Gold vinyl

Nick Waterhouse returns with a new self-titled album, a powerhouse of a record filled with his distinct California surf-rock infused swaggering soul. Sounds like a world of other things whilst also pretty fresh... he's legit.

Also this week, Luluc return on Sub Pop with Dear Hamlyn (including a Loser Edition), Jim Jones & The Righteous Mind drop the riotous CollectiV and Mute reissue Daniel Blumberg and Hebronix Liv collaboration. 

In October of 2018, ten years after the launch of their hit HBO series, musical comedians Bret McKenzie and Jemaine Clement returned to HBO for the all-new comedy special. 'Live in London' was taped before a live audience at the Eventim Apollo and featured the Conchords performing songs from the sold-out UK and Ireland edition of 'Flight of the Conchords Sing Flight of the Conchords Tour'.

+ Limited Indie 'Loser' Edition triple LP pressed on clear vinyl with an etched 6th side.

Townes Van Zandt

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard release the mega limited Cyboogie 7" on Flightless Records.

We should have some of the KH Only Human 12" via Text shortly... but do buy quick as they won't hit the racks. (ps. #KieranHebden #FourTet)

Also sold out quicker than a heart attack is the debut Black Country, New Road 7" on Speedy Wunderground. Absolutely lush it is too, a reminder to buy all Speedy Wunderground singles on sight and to also buy your Sea Change tickets.

In October 2018, Paul Weller performed two extraordinary must-see concerts at The Royal Festival Hall with an orchestra. The second of these shows was recorded and filmed, and now sees the light of day as a stand-out live album and DVD.

Vapor Records have issued a pressing of Neil Young's "Dead Man: A Film By Jim Jarmusch [Music From And Inspired By The Motion Picture]". 

A couple of New Order 12" reissues today with Ceremony Version 1 and Ceremony Version 2.

Last one this week and it's a biggie... in these parts. Sky Blue is a collection of unreleased songs by Townes Van Zandt, one of the twentieth century's most celebrated songwriters. It is a time capsule that created forty-six years ago, and we’re only now just unearthing and opening it to find the treasures inside. Released on what would have been his 75th birthday, Sky Blue shows Townes working out some of his most iconic songs in an intimate, comfortable setting with one of his lifelong confidantes.

+ Indie Shops Exclusive on Limited Sky Blue Vinyl.

Phew. March well underway... we best pick our Record of the Month soon.

- Drift


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend €85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty