Best New Reissues: Bon Iver, Goldfrapp, Tinariwen, The Magnetic North, Branko Mataja and Gal Costa.

Best New Reissues: Bon Iver, Goldfrapp, Tinariwen, The Magnetic North, Branko Mataja and Gal Costa.

Epic albums getting anniversary editions and some wonderful new discoveries.

Hello, Friends. 

To celebrate the 10th anniversary (in June last year, technically) of Bon Iver's highly acclaimed sophomore release - Bon Iver, Bon Iver - 4AD have worked up a really handsome celebratory release. The album's iconic cover art has been reimagined to a minimal white-on-white embossed sleeve which matches the double white vinyl LP. This edition features five songs from Bon Iver's beautiful AIR Studios session, which captures the grand spirit of the album and distils it into sharper focus, as Justin Vernon and Sean Carey perform the songs as a duo, on grand pianos and vocals only. A really great fan edition (also including an essay from long-time fan Phoebe Bridgers) and a great opportunity to stick it back on the stereo.

Sounding absolutely glorious on a Monday morning is Goldfrapp's Felt Mountain. The lavish and deeply cinematic album was released twenty-one years ago (wow) and still sounds as evocatively old as it did then and weirdly futuristic still now. Such a belter. Gatefold sleeve and pressed on Gold colour vinyl.

Branko Mataja - Over Fields And Mountains

Today's most played record is just an absolute treasure. Numero release a new compilation called Over Fields And Mountains, a loving appraisal of Branko Mataja's recordings in the 1970's and 80's. It's a great back story; born in 1923 in the coastal town of Bekar, Branko and his family moved to North Hollywood in 1964 and after working as a barber, he began teaching himself to repair guitars and other instruments. The collection of instrumentals are shimmering with warm reverb, Yugoslavian and Serbian folk songs as you'll likely never have heard before or maybe again. 

Honestly, we just can't rave about this enough. It is such a vibe.

+ Available on a limited "white blossom" colour vinyl pressing.

Also getting a lot of plays this week is Gal Costa's India, a post-Tropicalia masterpiece from one of the movement's key figures and true legends of Brazilian music. Alongside the much-revered Costa, the album features icons like; Gilberto Gil, Arthur Verocai (whose strings lit up last year's BADBADNOTGOOD LP), Dominguinhos, Rogério Duprat and Tenorio Jr.

A fine job from Mr. Bongo in replicating the original gatefold sleeve, including the cover that was banned by the Brazilian military government in 1973.

Really excellent to have A Tinariwen double this week with a 20th Anniversary edition of the Tuareg rockers' first studio album The Radio Tisdas and breakthrough Amassakoul. Both albums are remastered and repackaged with bonus unreleased tracks, exclusive photos and brand-new liner notes. Tisdas is pressed on White vinyl, Amassakoul is pressed on Indigo Blue vinyl.

Gal Costa - India [Reissue]

Such a full week for reissues, the stereo is really popping today.

Past Imperfect is a new collection with The Best of Tindersticks '92 – '21. Some of the band's finest bits, plus a newie and live takes. Really enjoyed going backwards, such a constantly great band. 2CD, 3CD, 2LP and a lavish 4LP boxset that has JUST this minute arrived.

Y in Dub is new and reimagined arrangements from The Pop Group's seminal 1979 record. Powerful dub mixes by British reggae legend Dennis “Blackbeard” Bovell. This is heavy material, folks.

Fucked Up's Do All Words Can Do is a nine-track compilation gathering David Comes to Life era-appropriate rarities and B-sides, all of which were previously available only on 7”. Listened to this back-to-back with the album and my word, it's as powerful as it is gnarly.

Right back to the start this week, with the 2022 White Stripes reissues and the band's 1999 self-titled debut album and following sophomore De Stijl LP. Always nice to crank them on the stereo!

Lastly today, a very limited edition vinyl re-press of the debut LP from The Magnetic NorthOrkney: Symphony of the Magnetic North is the haunting debut album from Erland Cooper, Hannah Peel and Simon Tong (Mirry, Gorillaz, The Verve). Full Time Hobby have pressed it up on recycled vinyl, so you might well get a fun colour.

It's going to be a pretty mega week by the looks of things, a couple of Dinked Editions by the looks of it, amongst other reasons to be cheerful!

- Drift


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend $85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty